Staring captures stunning race one ASBK victory at The Bend

News 27 Apr 2019

Staring captures stunning race one ASBK victory at The Bend

Toparis and Simpson earn opening Supersport and Supersport 300 wins.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Bryan Staring (Kawasaki BCperformance) has claimed a stunning win in race one of The Bend Motorsport Park’s third round of the 2019 Pirelli Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK), just hours after securing victory in his Asia Road Racing Championship (ARRC) guest appearance.

The opening encounter was initially red-flagged due to an incident on lap one that saw Glenn Allerton (Maxima BMW) and Alex Phillis (Team Suzuki Ecstar Australia) go down, prompting a full restart, albeit shortened to nine laps due to time constraints.

Penrite Honda Racing’s Markus Chiodo stunned on the restart, taking control of the race while leading pole-sitter Mike Jones (DesmoSport Ducati) to the halfway point, which is where Staring emerged from the pack, making manoeuvres by the duo out front to then extend a 4.651s as he crossed the line.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Jones took second ahead of points leader Cru Halliday (Yamaha Racing Team), followed by Chiodo and Daniel Falzon (Yamaha Racing Team). The local favourite made contact with Wayne Maxwell (Team Suzuki Ecstar Australia) earlier in the race, prematurely ending the number 47’s campaign.

Josh Waters (Team Suzuki Ecstar Australia) was sixth ahead of Glenn Scott (GSR Kawasaki), Matt Walters (Kawasaki Connection), Damon Rees (Carl Cox Motorsport) and Lachlan Epis (Kawasaki BCperformance).

In the Supersport category, Tom Toparis (Landbridge Yamaha) once again reigned supreme, clinching a 5.390s victory over Nic Liminton (Yamaha) in the eight-lap outing. In a YZF-R6 podium lockout, it was Broc Pearson (Yamaha) who completed the podium head of Reid Battye (Team Suzuki Ecstar Australia) and Dallas Skeer (Suzuki).

Image: Russell Colvin.

The Supersport 300 division saw Olly Simpson put on a dominant display, racing to a commanding 10.412s triumph. An intense battle that unfolded behind him, but in the end, it was Harry Khouri (Yamaha) and Ben Baker (Yamaha) who completed the podium. Brandon Demmery (Yamaha) and Locky Taylor (Yamaha) were fourth and fifth respectively.

Racing resumes tomorrow for the final day of action at the world-class facility in South Australia.

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *