Quintanilla breaks through for Dakar Rally stage nine win

News 15 Jan 2020

Quintanilla breaks through for Dakar Rally stage nine win

Brabec leads as Price moves to third in the standings.

Image: Supplied.

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Pablo Quintanilla has broken through to claim victory on stage nine of the 2020 Dakar Rally, while it’s still American Ricky Brabec (Monster Energy Honda Team) who leads the overall rankings.

Australian and defending Dakar champion Toby Price (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) charged to runner-up honours ahead of Joan Barreda (Monster Energy Honda Team), while Brabec and Ross Branch (Bas Dakar KTM Racing Team) locked out the top five.

Brabec continues to control the standings with an impressive 20m53s advantage over Quintanilla, as Price still remains in the hunt in third. Barreda and Jose Cornejo (Monster Energy Honda Team) are fourth and fifth respectively.

Australian Rodney Faggotter (Yamaha Motor Australia) wound up 18th on day eight for a ranking of 13th, as fellow Aussies Phillip Wilson (Bas Dakar KTM Racing Team), Ben Young (Duust Rally Team), Trevor Wilson (Husqvarna) and Matthew Tisdall (Bas Dakar KTM Racing Team) are now ranked in positions 56, 62, 81, and 99.

Detailed results

Source: MotoOnline.com.au

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.