Oldenburg rises for first SX2 victory in South Australia

News 19 Oct 2019

Oldenburg rises for first SX2 victory in South Australia

Opening round winner Hayes and outdoor champion Todd crash out of final.

Image: Supplied.

Penrite Honda Racing’s Mitchell Oldenburg has won round two of the 2019 Australian Supercross Championship in SX2, delivering a dominant performance at Port Adelaide in South Australia.

Oldenburg scored his first win on Australian soil by a commanding 6.555s over fellow American import Josh Osby (Raceline KTM Thor).

Fast-finishing Aaron Tanti (Serco Yamaha) almost made it consecutive runner-up results, however an error on the final lap allowed Osby back through for position. Defending champion Jay Wilson (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) and Chris Blose (Penrite Honda Racing) filled the top five.

Supercross rookie Regan Duffy (Raceline KTM Thor) impressed with sixth place, followed by lead privateer Connor Tierney (Yamaha), Tomas Ravenhorst (KTM), Bradley Taft (Empire Kawasaki) and Dylan Wills (Davey Motorsports KTM).

Major news in the SX2 main was the exit of early leader Wilson Todd (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna) and opening round winner Jacob Hayes (Serco Yamaha) – separately going down in the same rhythm lane on lap three.

As a result, it’s now Tanti who leads the championship following two of five rounds, two points ahead of Osby and a further two ahead of tonight’s winner Oldenburg. Previous leader Hayes has now dropped down the order to seventh.

Detailed results

Source: MotoOnline.com.au

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.