MotoE rider line-up and rules set for inaugural season

FIM Enel MotoE World Cup

MotoE Rules and Riders

The all-new FIM Enel MotoE World Cup will kick off in 2019. The series will be the first motorcycle World Championship where motorcycles are powered by electric motors.

All competing motorcycles will all be identical in the Cup and supplied exclusively by Energica Motor. In line with the sustainability objectives, all the energy stored in the batteries that powers the motorcycles will be produced from renewable resources, a commitment from Enel, the sponsor of the series.

The Motorcycle

Energica Motor Company is the first Italian manufacturer of high performance electric motorcycles, and the manufacturer of the Energica Ego Corsa on which MotoE riders will compete.


Battery capacity around 20 Kwh
Power: up to 120 Kw (around 160 Hp)
Max speed up to 270 km/h
Brembo brakes, Öhlins suspension, Marchesini wheels

All competing motorcycles will be identical although for some parts, like for example the suspension springs and valving, the teams will be allowed to choose between a range of different springs with varying stiffness’ depending on the rider’s specific needs.

Motorcycles will be kept together in a dedicated E-paddock structure, in which each team will have its own box.

Energica - Enel - MotoE
Energica – Enel – MotoE

The chargers and the Solar Panels

Enel X, the official smart charging partner of the series, will provide a mobile charging solution, the JuiceRoll, composed of a semi mobile unit and a mobile unit per motorcycle:

  • The Semi Mobile Unit will be placed in the E-paddock and will be used to recharge the motorcycle batteries between the sessions
  • The Mobile Unit will follow the motorcycle on the grid and will be used to top up the motorcycle battery and to energize the tyre blankets

Solar panels will be coupled with smart meters, that are measuring equipment to constantly track the electrical energy use of the event.

Enel will provide a distribution system that will connect JuiceRolls and the MotoE paddock auxiliary’s loads to the grid, integrating Solar Panels. The result is the complete electrification of the Moto E event, from the grid to the motorcycle.

Teams, Riders & Crew

The grid will be composed of 18 riders, including the presence of female rider, Maria Herrera. Split up into 12 different Teams there will be ten different nationalities lining up in the FIM Enel MotoE world cup, from Australia to Brazil including many European countries. Four former MotoGP riders including Sete Gibernau (twice MotoGP runner up), two former FIM Moto3 World Champions Nico Terol (2011) from Spain and Mike Di Meglio (2008) from France, two FIM Endurance World Champions like Josh Hook (2017) and Kenny Foray (2014), and a former European Moto2 Champion, Eric Granado from Brazil.

No Rider Nationality Team
16 Josh hook Australian Alma pramac racing
5 Alex De Angelis San Marino Alma Pramac Racing
6 Maria Herrera Spanish Angel Nieto Team
18 Nicolas Terol Spanish Angel Nieto Team
19 Xavier Simeon Belgian Avintia Esponsorama Racing
51 Eric Granado Brazilian Avintia Esponsorama Racing
14 Randy De Puniet French Lcr E-Team
59 Niccolo Canepa Italian Lcr E-Team
4 Hector Garzo Spanish Tech3 E-Racing
78 Kenny Foray French Tech3 E-Racing
11 Matteo Ferrari Italian Trentino Gresini Motoe
32 Lorenzo Savadori Italian Trentino Gresini Motoe
2 Jesko Raffin Swiss Dynavolt Intact Gp
66 Niki Tuuli Finnish Ajo Motorsport Motoe
63 Mike Di Meglio French Eg 0,0 Marc Vds
38 Bradley Smith British One Energy Racing
15 Sete Gibernau Spanish Pons Racing
27 Matteo Casadei Italian Sic58 Squadracorse


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *