Herlings opens MXGP with Matterley Basin victory

News 2 Mar 2020

Herlings opens MXGP with Matterley Basin victory

Australians Evans and Beaton earn race podiums in Great Britain.

Image: Supplied.

Former champion Jeffrey Herlings has opened the 2020 MXGP World Championship by securing victory at Matterley Basin’s first round in Great Britain.

The Red Bull KTM Factory Racing rider won the day convincingly after recording a 1-2 scorecard, defeating reigning world champion Tim Gajser (Team HRC), who was forced to salvage eighth in race one before winning moto two.

Antonio Cairoli (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) was third with 4-3 race results, followed by Jeremy Seewer (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing) and premier class rookie Mitch Evans (Team HRC), the Australian making an impressive debut with 3-7 moto finishes.

In the MX2 category, Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jago Geerts emerged victorious after lodging 1-4 race results, defeating race two winner Tom Vialle (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing), who was sixth in moto one.

Third was credited to Mikkel Haarup (F&H Racing Kawasaki), while Australian Jed Beaton (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) was just shy of the podium with a strong 2-6 scorecard.

Rene Hoffer (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) was fifth, as Australians Nathan Crawford (Team Honda 114 Motorsports), Wilson Todd (DRT Kawasaki) and Bailey Malkiewicz (Team Honda 114 Motorsports) were 14th, 17th and 32nd.

Defending MXW champion Courtney Duncan (Kawasaki) dominated the women’s category over Larissa Papenmeier (Yamaha) and Kiara Fontanesi (KTM), as Australian Tahlia O’Hare (KTM) wound up 12th overall. Compatriot Hannah Bagnall (Honda) went 35-39.

Detailed results

Source: MotoOnline.com.au

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.