Aussie hopefuls miss the cut for Red Bull Rookies Cup

Red Bull Rookies 2020

Over 100 young hopefuls from 37 countries were put through the wringer this week as Red Bull Rookies Cup organisers finalised the entry list for the 2020 competition. 

Billy Van Eerde was one of the 11 riders that automatically gained selection for 2020 off the back of their performances in the series this year, another 109 competitors faced off at Guadix this week for the remaining 11 slots on the grid for 2020.

Red Bull Rookies
Red Bull Rookies 2020

Three Aussie kids and a young New Zealander were aiming to bolster the ANZAC ranks amongst the Rookies with Angus Grenfell, Senna Agius and Cros Francis joined by young Kiwi Cormac Buchanan at the selection event. 

While some of them made it through to the final day of the selections ultimately they all missed out on securing a place for 2020. That does not rule them out from applying again in future years with more experience under their belts so this doesn’t draw a line under their hope to eventually join the ranks of the Red Bull Rookies. 

Red Bull Rookies
Red Bull Rookies 2020

11 riders ultimately made the cut with five Spaniards adding to the four of their countrymen that had already been selected. Thus Spain makes up almost half of the 22 rider entry list named so far. 

Riders invited to join the Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup for 2020
  1. David Alonso (Colombia)
  2. Izan Guevara Bonnin (Spain)
  3. Daniel Holgado Miralles (Spain)
  4. Rocco Landers (United States)
  5. Luca Lunetta (Italy)
  6. Alex Millan Gomez (Spain)
  7. Daniel Muñoz Fernandez (Spain)
  8. David Muñoz Rodríguez (Spain)
  9. Scott Ogden (Great Britain)
  10. Bartholomé Perrin (France)
  11. Collin Veijer (Netherlands)
Red Bull Rookies
Successful applicants this week celebrate
2020 Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup pre-qualified riders
  1. Phillip Tonn (GER)
  2. Alex Escrig (SPA)
  3. Matteo Bertelle (ITA)
  4. Billy van Eerde (AUS)
  5. Mario Aji (IDN)
  6. Pedro Acosta (SPA)
  7. David Salvador (SPA)
  8. Gabin Planques (FRA)
  9. Zonta van den Goorbergh (NED)
  10. Artem Maraev (RUS)
  11. Marcos Uriarte (SPA)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.