Waters edges Metcalfe in MX1 moto one at Gympie national

Image: Foremost Media.

DPH Motorsport Husqvarna’s Todd Waters has made a triumphant homecoming in Thor MX1 moto one at round six of the 2019 Pirelli MX Nationals in Gympie, Queensland.

Waters withstood a mid-moto charge of Brett Metcalfe (Penrite Honda Racing) to capture the race victory, the pair comfortably ahead of the chasing pack.

It was Kirk Gibbs (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) who took the hole-shot, however, Waters soon sliced his way through to the front and that is where he would remain. Metcalfe was the only rider to match him, but wasn’t quite able to make an attack for the lead in the second half.

As for Gibbs, he managed to make a late move on teammate and red plate-holder Luke Clout for third, the latter finishing ahead of Hayden Mellross (Raceline KTM Thor), who clawed his way through the field for position in an inspired ride.

Super Pole winner Jesse Dobson (Husqvarna) was sixth, followed by the returning Caleb Ward (Davey Motorsports KTM), Jayden Rykers (Suzuki), Richie Evans (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) and Connor Tierney (Yamaha), who is also back behind the gates.

Image: Foremost Media.

In the Pirelli MX2 Sprint motos it was Wilson Todd (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna) who won both, securing him maximum points.

He led Kyle Webster (Penrite CRF Honda Racing) and Aaron Tanti (Serco Yamaha), who was ahead of teammate Nathan Crawford and Yamalube Yamaha Racing’s Jay Wilson.

Sixth through 10th places were filled by Dylan Wills (Davey Motorsports KTM), Bailey Malkiewicz (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna), Isaac Ferguson (KTM), Cooper Pozniak (KTM) and Joel Evans (Husqvarna). Todd topped moto one from Tanti and Webster, while Webster and Crawford were P2 and P3 in moto two.

Image: Foremost Media.

The opening Motul MXD encounter was won by WBR Yamaha’s Maximus Purvis, six seconds clear of points-leader Regan Duffy (Raceline KTM Thor) after a late charge.

Early leaders Noah Ferguson (Davey Motorsports KTM) and Mason Semmens (Davey Motorsports KTM) third and fourth respectively, each delivering strong performances among the front-end of the field.

Fifth position belonged to Jai Walker (Husqvarna), followed by Jayce Cosford (Yamaha), Liam Walsh (KTM), Mason Rowe (KTM), Tye Jones (Husqvarna) and Mackenzie O’Bree (Yamaha).

Detailed results

Source: MotoOnline.com.au

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *