Tomac extends advantage with Salt Lake City win

News 1 Jun 2020

Tomac extends advantage with Salt Lake City win

Controlled victory for McElrath as 250SX East series resumes.

Image: Octopi Media.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac stretched an eight-point lead in Monster Energy Supercross 2020 at Salt Lake City, winning in the sport’s return to competition today.

Tomac was all class in the 450SX main event, remaining patient in difficult, dry conditions to win by 3.771s over Cooper Webb (Red Bull KTM).

It was Blake Baggett (Team Rocky Mountain WPS KTM) led an action-packed first half of the race, before Tomac – who had to overcome both Webb and Ken Roczen (Team Honda HRC) in a scrap for position – ultimately made his way by.

Both Webb and Roczen soon followed, however, they weren’t able to mount another true challenge to Tomac from that point. Roczen saved a major mishap on the penultimate lap to salvage the final place on the podium.

Behind the leading trio, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Jason Anderson and Zach Osborne were fourth and fifth respectively, with Martin Davalos (Monster Energy Team Tedder KTM) climbing to sixth. Baggett, meanwhile, faded to seventh.

Rounding out the top 10 this afternoon were Justin Barcia (Monster Energy Yamaha), a fast-starting Justin Brayton (Team Honda HRC) and Dean Wilson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna).

The return to racing of Adam Cianciarulo (Monster Energy Kawasaki) was short-lived, going down heavily while in P2 on lap two. Both Tomac and Webb were momentarily caught up in the incident.

In addition, Chad Reed (Mountain Motorsports cbdMD CR22 KTM) was one of multiple riders to pit during the final, going out of the race but eventually credited with 19th.

Image: Octopi Media.

The first Salt Lake City round of 250SX East saw Monster Energy Star Yamaha’s Shane McElrath race to a pivotal victory to recommence the 2020 season.

The result has enabled McElrath to close to within seven points of defending champion Chase Sexton (Geico Honda), both now having two wins apiece so far.

Behind them to complete the podium was Daytona winner Garrett Marchbanks (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki), who managed to make his way by Jeremy Martin (Geico Honda) in the early laps and that’s where they would remain.

Despite going down on the opening lap, Pierce Brown (TLD Red Bull KTM) charged back to fifth, followed by Kyle Peters (Phoenix Racing Honda), Jalek Swoll (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna), Enzo Lopes (ClubMX Yamaha), Jace Owen (Phoenix Racing Honda) and John Short (Manluk Racing Honda).

There was trouble on the opening lap for the returning Colt Nichols (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) and he was forced to pit, before working his way back to 15th position. Geico Honda rookie Jo Shimoda was involved, also required to stop.

Round 12 of the Monster Energy Supercross championship will take place this Wednesday, again at Rice-Eccles Stadium, where each of the final seven rounds have been scheduled to round out the series.

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *