Staring unstoppable for dominant win in ASBK race two

More victories this morning at The Bend for Toparis and Simpson.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Kawasaki BCperformance’s Bryan Staring marched to a second win in as many races at The Bend Motorsport Park this morning, easing to victory in the Motul Pirelli Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK).

Staring’s Ninja ZX-10RR on Dunlop tyres has proven to be the package of the Kawasaki Superbike class this weekend in South Australia, building a 7.908s advantage in 10 laps.

It was Wayne Maxwell (Team Suzuki Ecstar) who controlled the pace in the early laps, before Staring – after running as far down the order as fourth – made his way to the front on lap six. From there it was no stopping Staring, winning his third race in two days.

Behind Staring at the chequered flag was the ever-consistent Mike Jones (DesmoSport Ducati), who also worked his way through the pack and managed to fend of Maxwell in the closing laps. Championship leader Cru Halliday (Yamaha Racing Team) wound up fourth, in front of Josh Waters (Team Suzuki Ecstar).

It was a quiet race for Penrite Honda Racing’s reigning champion Troy Herfoss on his way to P6, while Daniel Falzon (Yamaha Racing Team), Arthur Sissis (Suzuki), Glenn Scott (GSR Kawasaki) and a fast-starting Alex Phillis (Team Suzuki Ecstar) were the top 10.

Image: Russell Colvin.

A pair of notable non-finishers were Ted Collins (Maxima BMW) and Lachlan Epis (Kawasaki BCperformance), the duo coming together on lap eight and going out of the race.

The second Australian Supersport race was taken out by runaway series leader Tom Toparis (Yamaha), 6.144s clear of Nic Liminton (Yamaha), with Reid Battye (Suzuki) third.

Positions four and five earlier this morning in the second of three national Supersport races belonged to Broc Pearson (Yamaha) and Dallas Skeer (Suzuki).

Image: Russell Colvin.

It was once again Olly Simpson (Yamaha) who took the honours in YMI Supersport race two, edging Hunter Ford (Yamaha) by only 0.009s.

Senna Agius (Kawasaki) came third and Harry Khouri (Yamaha) fourth – those riders split by seven-tenths across the line. KTM-mounted Seth Crump was fifth.

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *