Record-setting Halliday scores Wakefield Park ASBK pole

Goulburn talent Toparis to lead Supersport field from front of the grid.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Yamaha Racing Team’s Cru Halliday has captured pole position in Wakefield Park’s second round of the 2019 Motul Pirelli Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK).

Halliday recorded a flying 57.138s lap-time in Q2 of the revamped premier class qualifying format, a new best lap of the Goulburn facility.

A flurry of fast times were lodged in the closing moments of the 15-minute session, with Halliday edging former record-holder Wayne Maxwell (Team Suzuki Ecstar) by just 0.052s. Third was defending champion Troy Herfoss (Penrite Honda Racing).

No less than seven riders were within the 57s bracket, as DesmoSport Ducati replacement Mike Jones slotted into fourth, leading Daniel Falzon (Yamaha Racing Team), second of the Suzukis Josh Waters and round one winner Aiden Wagner (Landbridge Racing Yamaha).

After topping Q1 directly prior, last year’s privateer champion Matt Walters (Kawasaki) was an impressive eighth, while Bryan Staring (Kawasaki BCperformance) and triple champion Glenn Allerton (Maxima BMW) rounded out the top 10.

Image: Russell Colvin.

In Supersport qualifying it was points-leader Tom Toparis (Yamaha) who rode his YZF-R6 to pole position with a 59.399s, a few tenths shy of the circuit best lap set by Halliday one year ago.

While Goulburn local Toparis was 0.483s clear of the field out front, joining him on the front row will be fellow Yamaha-mounted rider Broc Pearson – the only other rider in the 59s – with Suzuki newcomer Reid Battye rounding out the top three.

Fourth on the grid is another rookie in Oli Bayliss (Cube Racing Yamaha), with the top 10 completed by Nic Liminton (Yamaha), Ty Lynch (Yamaha), Rhys Belling (Yamaha), Aidan Hayes (Yamaha), Dallas Skeer (Suzuki) and Sam Lambert (MV Agusta).

Image: Russell Colvin.

It was a tight opening affair in the YMI Supersport 300 category as pole-setter Max Stauffer pushed through on the final lap to deliver victory by just 0.069s on his YZF-R3.

Stauffer was involved in an entertaining duel with Ben Baker (Yamaha) and John Lytras (Yamaha) for position in the thrilling 10-lap battle, the trio eventually finishing in that order. Zac Levy and Locky Taylor filled the top five on their Yamahas.

More to follow.

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *