Record lap grants Jones The Bend ASBK pole

Falzon and Maxwell lock out the top three in intense Q2 session.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Mike Jones (DesmoSport Ducati) has set a best-lap of 1m51.220s time at The Bend Motorsport Park to claim pole position for round three of the 2019 Motul Pirelli Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) in South Australia.

Recently signed for the remainder of the season with the factory Ducati outfit, Jones lodged the quick-time in the final moments of the session, stealing P1 from home favourite Daniel Falzon (Yamaha Racing Team), who set a time of 1m51.592s.

Former lap record holder Wayne Maxwell (Team Suzuki Ecstar Australia) held on for P3 with a time of 1m51.675s, as points leader Cru Halliday (Yamaha Racing Team) was fourth ahead of Josh Waters (Team Suzuki Ecstar Australia).

Bryan Staring (BCperformance Kawasaki) was sixth followed by Mark Chiodo (Penrite Honda Racing), Glenn Allerton (Maxima BMW), reigning champion Troy Herfoss (Penrite Honda Racing) and Matt Walters (Kawasaki Connection).

Yamaha-mounted Olly Simpson took out pole in the Supersport 300 category, narrowly edging out Brandon Demmery (Yamaha) by 0.089s. Third was credited to Hunter Ford (Yamaha) ahead of Senna Agius (Kawasaki) and Seth Crump.

Supersport qualifying is scheduled at 2:35pm local time.

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *