Rea wins Qatar Race 1 | Kawasaki claims manufacturer title

WorldSBK Race 1 Result

  1. J. Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK / Kawasaki ZX-10RR)
  2. C. Davies ( Racing – Ducati / Ducati Panigale V4 R)
  3. A. Lowes (Pata Yamaha WorldSBK Team / Yamaha YZF R1)
  4. Á. Bautista ( Racing – Ducati / Ducati Panigale V4 R)
  5. L. Haslam (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK / Kawasaki ZX-10RR)
  6. M. Van Der Mark (Pata Yamaha WorldSBK Team / Yamaha YZF R1)
  7. L. Baz (Ten Kate Racing – Yamaha / Yamaha YZF R1)
  8. M. Reiterberger (BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team / BMW S1000 RR)
  9. E. Laverty (Team Goeleven / Ducati Panigale V4 R)
  10. L. Camier (Moriwaki Althea Honda Team / Honda CBR1000RR)
  11. T. Razgatlioglu (Turkish Puccetti Racing / Kawasaki ZX-10RR)
  12. M. Melandri (GRT Yamaha WorldSBK / Yamaha YZF R1)
  13. M. Rinaldi (Barni Racing Team / Ducati Panigale V4 R)
  14. R. Kiyonari (Moriwaki Althea Honda Team / Honda CBR1000RR)
  15. A. Delbianco (Althea Mie Racing Team / Honda CBR1000RR)
  16. D. Schmitter (iXS Racing powered by YART/ Yamaha YZF R1)
    …RT) L. Mercado (Orelac Racing VerdNatura / Kawasaki ZX-10RR)
    …RT) S. Cortese (GRT Yamaha WorldSBK / Yamaha YZF R1)
    …RT) T. Sykes (BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team / BMW S1000 RR)
    …RT) J. Torres (Team Pedercini Racing / Kawasaki ZX-10RR)

World Superbike Standings



After the opening ten minutes of the session had seen the times settle down and the grid begin to take some sort of shape, Lucas Mahias was on top, with the Frenchman towing Federico Caricasulo around the Losail International Circuit. Provisionally second and third were Ayrton Badovini and Jules Cluzel, the latter being the top Championship contender.

WorldSBK QAT WorldSSP Friday Action Caricasulo
Federico Caricasulo – 2019 WSBK Round 13 – Qatar

Randy Krummenacher was the first rider to get down to business and hit the top of the timesheets with the fastest lap of the weekend. Corentin Perolari was right in behind the Swiss rider and took second, but there were strong times coming in from Mahias and Caricasulo – both riders looking to secure pole position and now, running separately on the track.

Mahias came to the fore and briefly went top, only for Caricasulo to better it, as the Italian came up from ninth to pole position. It was more bad news for Mahias, as he had a lap time cancelled and saw him drop to fifth. Joining Caricasulo on the front are his title rivals, Randy Krummenacher and Jules Cluzel – all three WorldSSP title contenders in the top three positions – would that be how the standings would read come Saturday evening?

Corentin Perolari secured fourth place with a good lap time, ahead of a disconsolate Lucas Mahias, down in fifth. Hikari Okubo was back inside the top six and completed the second row, after what had been a relatively quiet weekend up until that moment, pipping the final second row spot away at the dying moments.

WorldSBK QAT WorldSSP Friday Action Cluzel
Jules Cluzel – 2019 WSBK Round 13 – Qatar

Nabbed right at the end, Badovini heads up row three from seventh on the grid, whilst Isaac Viñales’ podium charge looks set to come from eighth on the grid – the Spaniard on the rostrum in the last two rounds. Kyle Smith was once again in ninth place, whilst an injured and recovering Thomas Gradinger completed the top ten.

Outside the top ten, Raffaele De Rosa was only 11th, ahead of the top Honda of Jules Danilo. Home-hero wildcard and Qatari Supersport Champion Saeed Al Sulaiti was 13th. Peter Sebestyen was 14th.

World Supersport Qualifying Top 6

  1. Federico Caricasulo (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team) 2’01.219
  2. Randy Krummenacher (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team) +0.274
  3. Jules Cluzel (GMT94 YAMAHA) +0.433
  4. Corentin Perolari (GMT94 YAMAHA) +0.510
  5. Lucas Mahias (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +0.550
  6. Hikari Okubo (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +0.565

World Supersport Standings

Pos Rider Points
1 Randy Krummenacher 202
2 Federico Caricasulo 194
3 Jules Cluzel 180
4 Lucas Mahias 143
5 Hikari Okubo 97
6 Raffaele De Rosa 92
7 Thomas Gradinger 86
8 Isaac Vinales 81
9 Corentin Perolari 81
10 Ayrton Badovini 59
11 Peter Sebestyen 54
12 Loris Cresson 41
13 Jules Danilo 36
14 Hannes Soomer 34
15 Kyle Smith 24
16 Hector Barbera 22
17 Federico Fuligni 13
18 Lorenzo Gabellini 10
19 Jack Kennedy 9
20 Glenn Van Straalen 9
21 Rob Hartog 9
22 Jaimie Van Sikkelerus 9
23 Kevin Manfredi 8
24 Brad Jones 7
25 Miquel Pons 6
26 Massimo Roccoli 6
27 Tom Toparis 5
28 Christian Stange 5
29 Maria Herrera 5
30 Gabriele Ruiu 4
31 Luca Ottaviani 4
32 Daniel Valle 3
33 Xavier Navand 1
34 Mattia Casadei 1


The usual unpredictability of WorldSSP300 showed, with a group of over 20 riders lapping together and taking advantage of the front straight for slipstreaming. However, it was Ana Carrasco who was using her WorldSSP300 Championship-winning experience to set consistently strong lap times on her own, leading the session for the majority of the session. Her rivals for second in the Championship, Andy Verdoïa (BCD Yamaha MS Racing) and Scott Deroue were stuck in the battling pack.

Out front, nobody could keep with Ana Carrasco, who took her first pole position of the 2019 season. The out-going WorldSSP300 Champion headed Bruno Ieraci (Kawasaki GP Project), who achieved his best ever WorldSSP300 starting position, ahead of Australian, Tom Edwards – securing his first front row of the 2019 World Supersport 300 season.

Heading up row two on the grid is WorldSSP300 World Champion Manuel Gonzalez, uncharacteristically out-qualified by teammate Tom Edwards. Indonesian star Galang Hendra Pratama was inside the top five and finished fifth overall, whilst Jeffrey Buis (MTM Racing Team) continued his strong weekend to finish sixth, his second consecutive top six result after Tissot Superpole.

Leading from row three in seventh place, 2017 WorldSSP300 Champion Marc Garcia made the most of his limited track time, whilst Scott Deroue was eighth, unable to match Carrasco in the battle for second overall in the Championship. Oliver König was a strong ninth, whilst completing the top ten was Victor Steeman.

Tissot Superpole Top Six

  1. Ana Carrasco (Kawasaki Provec WorldSSP300) 2’14.139
  2. Bruno Ieraci (Kawasaki GP Project) +0.366
  3. Tom Edwards (Kawasaki ParkinGO Team) +0.535
  4. Manuel González (Kawasaki ParkinGO Team) +0.584
  5. Galang Hendra Pratama (Semakin Di Depan Biblion Motoxracing) +0.637
  6. Jeffrey Buis (MTM Racing Team) +0.735

World Supersport 300 Standings

Pos Rider Points
1 Manuel Gonzalez 148
2 Ana Carrasco 106
3 Scott Deroue 106
4 Andy Verdoïa 89
5 Victor Steeman 69
6 Marc Garcia 68
7 Jan-Ole Jahnig 61
8 Galang Hendra Pratama 55
9 Hugo De Cancellis 47
10 Nick Kalinin 47
11 Kevin Sabatucci 39
12 Bruno Ieraci 30
13 Jeffrey Buis 21
14 Omar Bonoli 19
15 Koen Meuffels 16
16 Maximilian Kappler 16
17 Manuel Bastianelli 14
18 Tom Edwards 14
19 Beatriz Neila 12
20 Samuel Di Sora 11
21 Enzo De La Vega 11
22 Livio Loi 10
23 Dion Otten 10
24 Emanuele Vocino 10
25 Mika Perez 10
26 Dino Iozzo 10
27 Oliver König 9
28 Robert Schotman 9
29 Mateo Pedeneau 8
30 Tom Bramich 6
31 Ferran Hernandez Moyano 6
32 Unai Orradre 6
33 Ton Kawakami 4
34 Joel Damon Kelso 4
35 Jose Luis Perez Gonzalez 4
36 Dorren Loureiro 4
37 Paolo Giacomini 3
38 Filippo Rovelli 3
39 Borja Sanchez 2
40 Francisco Gomez 2
41 Yuta Okaya 1


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.