Rea claims record-setting fifth WorldSBK title at Magny-Cours

Jonathan Rea crowned 2019 WSBK Champion

Jonathan Rea has made history claiming his fifth WorldSBK Championship win over the weekend at Magny-Cours, not only as the first rider to do so, but also making this his fifth straight Championship title in a row. Rea took the win after finishing second in the Tissot-Superpole race and then winning Race Two, with the title in reach after Bautista was forced to retire.

hi MagnyCours WSBK SprintRace Rea JM
Jonathan Rea – 2019 WorldSBK Round 11, Magny-Cours

It was a tough early season for Jonathan Rea with Alvaro Bautista looking unstoppable, however Rea showed why he already had four WSBK titles to his name as the season progressed, and became the World Championship for a record fifth time in the best way possible – with a race win.

hi R Magny Cours WorldSBK Sunday Rea WW
Jonathan Rea – 2019 WorldSBK Round 11, Magny-Cours

Jonathan Rea

“I am just super-happy. It has been the biggest challenge to date and we have just chipped away. The beginning of the season was really tough, to be beaten the way we were. But to mentally accept the challenge and keep working as a team – also away from the track – we kept strong. I have worked and kept working. We all go to each weekend looking for the opportunity and we have had lots of opportunities this year, and won a lot of races. It is beyond my wildest dreams to win the title here because after four rounds I would have bitten your hand off if you told me I was going to be champion.

hi MagnyCours WSBK Race Rea JM
Jonathan Rea – 2019 WorldSBK Round 11, Magny-Cours

“With yesterday’s race being quite chaotic I was nervous going into today because I did not understand the points situation. The target all weekend was to try and – realistically – win it in Argentina, so we could go to Qatar with less pressure. But we got another opportunity today and I felt a little bit better with the bike compared to yesterday. With the temperature going up the pace was not so fast I was able to manage the bike, and I could see my opportunity with Michael. He was struggling in some areas where we were strong. And we were weaker in some areas where he was strong. So I was putting that all together, learning that for a few laps and then putting my head down and getting the job done. Massive thanks to Kawasaki, the team, my sponsors, my family, all my friends and everybody in my corner. I am the guy taking the plaudits but it is such a big team effort and I am fortunate to be in this position.”

hi MagnyCours WSBK Race Rea JM
Jonathan Rea on the podium with van der Mark and Lowes – 2019 WorldSBK Round 11, Magny-Cours

The eventual timing of Jonathan’s latest title success was somewhat unexpected, despite his strong podiums showings in the first two Magny Cours races. Rea had a genuine opportunity to take the crown after his only title rival Alvaro Bautista collided with Razgatlioglu and had to retire. Jonathan’s race two victory was his 12th win of the season.

hi MagnyCours WSBK Race Rea CQ
Jonathan Rea’s team celebrates in the pits – 2019 WorldSBK Round 11, Magny-Cours

Rea had aimed to win all the French WorldSBK races before the final contest of the weekend and he finally took his 83rd career victory by 0.862 seconds from Michael van der Mark. Jonathan’s latest title win comes with two rounds to spare, with 2019 seeing the rider claim 28-podiums including 12 wins, out of the 31 races so far, alongside six Superpoles.

hi MagnyCours WSBK Race Rea JM
Jonathan Rea – 2019 WorldSBK Round 11, Magny-Cours

Rea’s championship points total is now 544 with Alvaro Bautista a distant second on 415, with the next round a flyaway event, and will be held at the El Villicum circuit in Argentina, between the 11th and 13th of October.

2019 WorldSBK Standings

Pos Rider Total
1  Jonathan Rea  544
2  Alvaro Bautista  415
3  Alex Lowes  279
4  Michael Van Der Mark  274
5  Toprak Razgatlioglu  260
6  Leon Haslam  239
7  Chaz Davies  223
8  Tom Sykes  209
9  Marco Melandri  171
10  Sandro Cortese  122
11  Jordi Torres  117
12  Loris Baz  114
13  Michael Ruben Rinaldi  109
14  Markus Reiterberger  68
15  Leandro Mercado  60
16  Eugene Laverty  54
17  Leon Camier  42
18  Alessandro Delbianco  22
19  Ryuichi Kiyonari  22
20  Lorenzo Zanetti  21
21  Peter Hickman  14
22  Thomas Bridewell  12
23  Yuki Takahashi  11
24  Michele Pirro  10
25  Samuele Cavalieri  6
26  Sylvain Barrier  3
27  Hector Barbera  3
28  Takumi Takahashi  1


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.