MX1 overall to Waters after Gibbs wins moto two in Queensland

Image: Foremost Media.

Victory for DPH Motorsports Husqvarna’s Todd Waters at the Gympie round of the 2019 Pirelli MX Nationals saw him regain the Thor MX1 red plate in Queensland.

After winning the first moto this morning, Waters followed Kirk Gibbs (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) across the line this afternoon to clinch the overall.

Waters led the initial portion of the race only for Gibbs to make his way by in the second half, going on to finish in that order, while Hayden Mellross (Raceline KTM Thor) was third and a fast-finishing Brett Metcalfe (Penrite Honda Racing) fourth – each finishing in formation across the line.

Superpole winner Jesse Dobson (Husqvarna) had a stronger ride in moto two for fifth, ahead of holeshotter Dylan Long (Empire Kawasaki) and former points-leader Luke Clout (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy), who was forced to climb back from a heavy fall in the opening corners.

The top 10 was rounded out by Jayden Rykers (Suzuki), Caleb Ward (Davey Motorsports KTM) and Richie Evans (Yamalube Yamaha Racing). Overall the podium featured Waters, Gibbs and Metcalfe, with Waters now taking charge of the championship lead.

Image: Foremost Media.

Yamalube Yamaha Racing’s Jay Wilson delivered a timely win in Pirelli MX2 moto three, which handed him the overall to commence the second half of the season.

This afternoon Wilson was victorious over Serco Yamaha duo Nathan Crawford and Aaron Tanti, with Kyle Webster (Penrite CRF Honda Racing) fourth and red plate-holder Wilson Todd (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna) fifth following an early error.

Sixth came Dylan Wills (Davey Motorsports KTM) in another consistent effort, leading Bailey Malkiewicz (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna), Morgan Fogarty (Davey Motorsports KTM), impressive privateer Luke Reardon (KTM) and Ricky Latimer (Yamaha).

Overall it was Wilson who stood in the middle step of the rostrum, joined by Todd and Crawford to set up and intriguing second half of the series to be contested.

Image: Foremost Media.

Moto two of Motul MXD saw championship leader Regan Duffy (Raceline KTM Thor) turn the tables on this morning’s victor Maximus Purvis (WBR Yamaha).

Duffy managed to steal the round win in the process, as joining Duffy and Purvis on the podium for round six was Noah Ferguson (Davey Motorsports KTM).

Duffy put on a charge to beat Purvis home, while Mason Rowe (KTM) was third from Jayce Cosford (Yamaha) and Ferguson. Sixth through 10th were Brodie Ellis (Yamaha), Tye Jones (Husqvarna), Jai Walker (Husqvarna), Rhys Budd (Penrite CRF Honda Racing) and Liam Walsh (KTM).

The 2019 Pirelli MX Nationals will now move ahead to Maitland in New South Wales, where round seven will be hosted on Sunday, 14 July.

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *