Milner, Sanders and Styke open Toowoomba AORC with victories

Bacon and Gardiner storm to wins in EJ and Women’s classes.

Image: Foremost Media.

Daniel Milner (KTM Enduro Racing Team), Daniel Sanders (Husqvarna Enduro Racing Team) and Luke Styke (Yamaha Active8 Yamalube Racing) have kicked off the 2019 Yamaha bLU cRU Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) with victories in their respective classes at Toowoomba, finishing in that order in the outright classification.

Milner, who switched to the E2 division for 2019, proved to be unstoppable in the category at Queensland’s first round, defeating runner-up Josh Green (Yamaha Active8 Yamalube Racing) by over two minutes, winding up with a total time of 58m12.545s over the five-test Sprint format.

Yamaha-mounted contender Jeremy Carpentier was third, a minute off Green, while the top five was locked out by Broc Grabham (Honda) and Brad Hardaker (Yamaha).

Image: Foremost Media.

In the E3 division, it was all about Sanders, despite encountering a number of mistakes. He was able to rebound strongly, posting an overall time of 58m18.484s, four minutes clear of second’s Beau Ralston (Husqvarna). Andy Wilksch (Motul Pirelli Sherco Team) rounded out the podium ahead of Jesse Lawton (Husqvarna) and Matt Murry (Husqvarna).

The highly-competitive E1 class, which represented four positions inside the top 10 outright times, saw defending champion Styke take top honours, narrowly edging out Lyndon Snodgrass (KTM Enduro Racing Team) with an overall time of 1h0m11.804s.

Image: Foremost Media.

Rookie Michael Driscoll (Yamaha Active8 Yamalube Racing) landed on the podium while on debut, finishing just ahead of Fraser Higlett (Husqvarna Enduro Racing Team) followed by four-time EnduroGP world champion Matthew Phillips (KTM).

The EJ category was taken out by Kyron Bacon (KTM), as the Women’s class saw Jessica Gardiner (Yamaha) reign supreme. Racing recommences tomorrow for round two of the series.

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *