Herfoss storms to race one ASBK victory at Wakefield Park

Toparis tops Supersport race one as Stauffer wins second Supersport 300 encounter.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Reigning champion Troy Herfoss (Penrite Honda Racing) has secured a stunning race one victory at Wakefield Park’s second round of the 2019 Motul Pirelli Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) today.

The number one started from P3 on the grid, quickly navigating his way into second before setting his sights on early leader Wayne Maxwell (Team Suzuki Ecstar Australia).

The duo battled for much of the race, trading positions at different stages, but it was Herfoss who had the edge in the end, capturing a rewarding 1.189s win while setting a new lap record of 57.525s.

Starting on pole, Cru Halliday (Yamaha Racing Team) overcome early mistakes with a strong close of race performance, making a last-lap dive in the final turn on Maxwell to steal second position. Maxwell was third as Daniel Falzon (Yamaha Racing Team) and Mike Jones (DesmoSport Ducati) locked out the top five.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Sixth through to 10th was completed by Josh Waters (Team Suzuki Ecstar Australia), Bryan Staring (BCperformance Kawasaki), Alex Phillis (Team Suzuki Ecstar Australia), Matt Walters (Kawasaki) and Glenn Scott (GSR Kawasaki). Former points leader Aiden Wagner (Yamaha) retired just three laps into the encounter.

In the Supersport category, it was another commanding performance from Tom Toparis (Landbridge Yamaha) as he took out a 3.672s over Broc Pearson (Yamaha), who displayed strong pace with a best-lap of 59.834s – less than three tenths off Toparis’ quickest lap of 59.575s.

Supersport rookie Oli Bayliss (CubeRacing) completed the top three in third, 7.221s off the leader, while the top five was rounded out by Reid Battye (Team Suzuki Ecstar Australia) and Nic Liminton (Yamaha).

Image: Russell Colvin.

An incredible race two of the Supersport 300 division saw Max Stauffer (Yamaha) emerge victorious by just a slender 0.060s Zac Levy (Yamaha), the duo battling to the line with Locky Taylor only finishing a further 0.266s behind. Ben Baker (Yamaha) and Seth Crump (KTM) completed the top five.

Stauffer was also triumphant in race two of the Yamaha R3 Cup, edging out Hunter Ford (Yamaha) and John Lytras (Yamaha) in another absolute spectacle – just 0.175s separating the trio.

Carter Thompson (Yamaha) captured the race win in the Oceania Junior Cup ahead of Cros Francis (Yamaha) and Angus Grenfell (Yamaha). Racing resumes this afternoon for the final races of the event.

Detailed results

Source: CycleOnline.com.au

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *