Gajser strengthens points lead with MXGP of Germany triumph

Prado wins MX2 as Australia’s Beaton charges to sixth overall.

Image: Supplied.

Honda HRC’s Tim Gajser has earned his fifth consecutive victory at Teutschenthal in Germany for round 10 of the 2019 MXGP World Championship.

The former world champion charged to a dominant 1-1 performance at the demanding circuit, boosting his points advantage to 83 over Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli, who sat out the round with a shoulder injury.

Monster Energy Wilvo Yamaha’s Arnaud Tonus rode to another strong result of second, joined on the podium by teammate Gautier Paulin (Monster Energy Wilvo Yamaha). The top five was locked out by Pauls Jonass (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) and Jeremy Seewer (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing).

In the MX2 category, reigning champion Jorge Prado (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) earned another incredible 1-1 scorecard for the overall win, stretching his points lead to 44 markers.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Tom Vialle scored runner-up honours ahead of first-time podium getter Mathys Boisrame (Honda), as the top five was rounded out by Thomas Kjer Olsen (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) and Henri Jacobi (F&H Kawasaki).

Australian Jed Beaton (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) was sixth overall with an impressive 6-5 scorecard, while compatriot Mitch Evans (Team Honda 114 Motorsports) ran up front in moto one before a pair of crashes saw him DNF and not return for race two with an injured shoulder and back.

The MXGP World Championship returns on 7 July at Palembang in Indonesia for round 11 of the series.

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *