Gajser steals points lead with MXGP of Russia victory

Prado wins MX2 as Australians Evans and Beaton score top 10s.

Image: Supplied.

Former world champion Tim Gajser has stolen the premier class points lead from Antonio Cairoli (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) after earning his third-consecutive victory at the MXGP of Russia over the weekend.

The Honda HRC contender rode phenomenally, scoring a perfect 1-1 scorecard to capitalise on an unfortunate weekend from the Italian nine-time world champion.

It was an impressive day of racing for Arnaud Tonus (Monster Energy Wilvo Yamaha Official MXGP), who wound up second overall, while Jeremy Seewer (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing) claimed his maiden premier class podium in third.

The top five was completed by returning reigning champion Jeffrey Herlings (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) and Romain Febvre (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing). Former points leader Cairoli was eighth overall.

In the MX2 category, defending champion Jorge Prado (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) reigned supreme over Thomas Kjer Olsen (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing), the Spaniard extending his points lead with a 1-1 performance.

Monster Energy Kemea Yamaha Official MX2’s Jago Geerts locked out the podium in third, while fourth and fifth were credited to Tom Vialle (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) and Yamaha SM Action MC Migliori’s Michele Cervellin.

Australians Mitch Evans (Team Honda 114 Motorsports) and Jed Beaton (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) were sixth and 10th overall respectively. Compatriot Caleb Grothues (SDM Yamaha), contesting the EMX250 category in the European Motocross Championship, was ninth overall.

The MXGP World Championship nows heads to Kegums in Latvia this weekend for round nine of the series.

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *