Gajser records fourth-consecutive victory at MXGP of Latvia

Prado triumphant in MX2 as Beaton scores top 10.

Image: Supplied.

Former world champion Tim Gajser has earned his fourth-consecutive victory at Kegums’ ninth round of the 2019 MXGP World Championship in Latvia.

In a bizarre round where Red Bull KTM Factory Racing duo Jeffrey Herlings and Antonio Cairoli were ruled out with injury, Gajser reigned supreme in a podium that saw all three riders level on 40 points.

It was a race two triumph that ultimately handed the factory Honda pilot the victory ahead of Romain Febvre (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing) and Monster Energy Wilvo Yamaha Official MXGP’s Arnaud Tonus. The top five was rounded out by Jeremy Seewer (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing) and Jeremy van Horebeek (Honda).

In the MX2 category, reigning champion Jorge Prado (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) was triumphant once again, strengthening his points lead in the process.

The Spaniard defeated Monster Energy Kemea Yamaha Official MX2’s Jago Geerts and Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Thomas Kjer Olsen, followed by Ben Watson (Monster Energy Kemea Yamaha Official MX2) and Bas Vaessen (Hitachi KTM).

Australians Jed Beaton (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) and Mitch Evans (Team Honda 114 Motorsports) were 10th and 15th overall respectively. Compatriot Caleb Grothues (SDM Yamaha), contesting the EMX250 category in the European Motocross Championship, was 15th overall.

The MXGP World Championship now heads to Teutschenthal in Germany this weekend for round 10 of the series.

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *