Clout opens Maitland MX Nationals with dual MX1 sprint race wins

News 14 Jul 2019

Clout opens Maitland MX Nationals with dual MX1 sprint race wins

Crawford and Duffy seal moto one victories in MX2 and MXD categories.

Image: Foremost Media.

CDR Yamaha Monster Energy’s Luke Clout has opened Maitland’s seventh round of the 2019 Pirelli MX Nationals with dual victories in the pair of MX1 sprint races.

The first MX1 sprint race saw Clout emerge victorious in the short eight-lap outing, the New South Welshman taking control of the race on lap one and never looking back.

Husqvarna-mounted privateer Zak Small pulled an amazing hole-shot, leading the field throughout the opening turns. He was quickly overcome by Clout and Brett Metcalfe (Penrite Honda Racing) – the latter falling victim to a quick pass by Kirk Gibbs (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy).

Metcalfe ultimately finished third across the line behind Gibbs, as Hayden Mellross (Raceline KTM Thor) and Jayden Rykers (Suzuki) rounded out the top five. The top was 10 was completed by Todd Waters (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna), Dylan Long (Empire Kawasaki), Connor Tierney (Yamaha), Lawson Bopping (Empire Kawasaki) and Richie Evans (Yamalube Yamaha Racing).

Metcalfe nabbed the hole-shot in MX1 sprint race two, although race one winner Clout made a number of moves in the opening laps, stealing the lead and going onto capture victory. Metcalfe held on for second ahead Mellross, as Gibbs and Long – who ran inside the top three for a selection of laps – locked out the top five.

The top 10 was completed by Waters, Rykers, Justin Rodbell (KSF Suzuki), Caleb Ward (Davey Motorsports KTM) and Tierney. The combined moto one ranking saw Clout collect the full 25 points over Metcalfe and Gibbs.

Image: Foremost Media.

In the opening MX2 encounter, it was Serco Yamaha’s Nathan Crawford who captured a stunning season-first moto victory after coming from outside the lead group in the early stages.

DPH Motorsport Husqvarna’s Bailey Malkiewicz grabbed the hole-shot and traded positions with Luke Reardon (KTM) on multiple occasions, the pair both making mistakes before being overcome by points leader Wilson Todd (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna).

Todd led the field for a number laps, although was hunted down by Crawford, who went onto claim victory. Despite falling in the opening stages, Kyle Webster (Penrite Pirelli CRF Honda Racing) put in an incredible ride, making numerous passes, including a crafty move on rival Todd, to steal second place.

Gympie victor Jay Wilson (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) moved into third ahead of Todd, as the top five was completed by Aaron Tanti (Serco Yamaha). Positions six to 10 were taken out by Isaac Ferguson (Davey Motorsports KTM), Dylan Wills (Davey Motorsports KTM), Ricky Latimer (Yamaha), Morgan Fogarty (Davey Motorsports KTM) and Cooper Pozniak (KTM).

MXD championship leader Regan Duffy (Raceline KTM Thor) reigned supreme in race one, coming from behind to take out a narrow triumph over Davey Motorsports KTM’s Noah Ferguson – just 0.308s separated the duo across the line. Mason Semmens (Davey Motorsport KTM) was third ahead of Rhys Budd (Penrite Pirelli CRF Honda Racing) and Maximum Purvis (WBR Yamaha).

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *