Cairoli opens MXGP with victory as Evans podiums in Argentina

Reigning champion Prado tops MX2 category at season-opener.

Image: Supplied.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli has opened the 2019 MXGP World Championship with a dominant overall victory in Neuquen, Patagonia Argentina, as Australia’s Mitch Evans (Team Honda 114 Motorsports) featured on the MX2 podium while making his debut.

Nine-time world champion Cairoli proved to be unstoppable in the opening round, defeating former world number one Tim Gajser (Honda HRC) in both outings – the Slovenian ultimately finishing second overall.

Jeremy van Horebeek (Honda SR Motoblouz) rounded out the podium with 6-3 moto scores, followed by Clement Desalle (Monster Energy Kawasaki Factory Racing) and Gautier Paulin (Monster Energy Wilvo Yamaha). Roman Febvre (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing), who was third in race one, crashed heavily in motor two and was transported to hospital with a suspected foot injury.

In the MX2 category, reigning world champion Jorge Prado (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) mastered both motos, taking out two rewarding race victories to earn the overall.

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Thomas Kjer Olsen was second with a pair of runner-up results, while Evans, making his first world championship appearance, wound up an incredible third after a lodging 5-3 scorecard.

Calvin Vlaanderen (Honda HRC) and Henri Jacobi (F&H Racing Team) were fourth and fifth respectively – both tied on points with Evans for third. The next stop on the MXGP World Championship calendar is scheduled for 24 March at Matterley Basin in the United Kingdom.

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *