Bayliss takes ASBK SS pole as Toparis goes down

ASBK Supersport Qualifying

With Chris Plumridge

Oli Bayliss will start from pole position for Round 1 of the mi-bike Motorcycle Insurance Australian Superbike Championship in the Motorsports TV Supersport class, but all the paddock is talking about a potential injury to 2019 champion Tom Toparis.

ASBK Supersport QP Toparis ImagebyRobertMurdoch

ASBK Supersport QP Toparis ImagebyRobertMurdoch

Tom Toparis – Image Robert Murdoch

Toparis crashed his Benro Racing Yamaha at Turn 10 only a few minutes into the session. He was immediately attended to by medics due to a possible lower leg injury. Toparis is scheduled to leave for Europe in less than a week to contest the European rounds of the World Supersport Championship. Early indications are that nothing is broken but Toparis will be subject to medical clearance tomorrow morning before he is confirmed to race.

ASBK Supersport QP Toparis ImagebyRobertMurdoch

ASBK Supersport QP Toparis ImagebyRobertMurdoch

Tom Toparis – Image Robert Murdoch

Supersport Qualifying

With the sun coming out at Phillip Island the Supersport riders had a very different experience to the one they had in the morning, and it would be up to who could adapt the best as to who would be on the front row tomorrow.

Tom Toparis unsurprisingly set the early pace on his Benro Yamaha (1:36.962), but Oli Bayliss (Cube Racing Yamaha) was right behind on 1:37.698.

Ty Lynch crashed two-and-a-half minutes in at Turn 8, but then with ten-minutes to go Toparis went down at Turn 10.

This was huge news for the rest of the Supersport field who had been in Toparis’ thrall for the whole of 2019 – save for one race at The Bend. Toparis was on a flyer, too: three-tenths up at the first split.

While the medical team attended to Toparis, Bayliss made his move, knocking the mark down to 1:36.893 to claim provisional pole.

Jack Passfield continued his recent run of form for third (1:37.558), with Nic Liminton fourth (1:37.694). At the chequered flag Passfield lowered his time to a 1:37.242 and Liminton a 37.282, but otherwise that’s how they stayed.

Max Stauffer (GTR Motostars Yamaha) impressed during his first-ever Supersport qualifying in fifth (1:37.616), with Jack Hyde sixth.

Tom Edwards (Bikebiz Yamaha) will start from eighth, Broc Pearson (Yamaha) will start from ninth, while Ted Collins (JC Motorsports) will start from 11th on his return to the Supersport class from Superbike.

Australian Supersport 600 Qualifying

Pos Rider Bike Time/Gap Speed
1 Oli BAYLISS  YZF-R6 1m36.893 255
2 Tom TOPARIS ZX6R +0.069 257
3 Jack PASSFIELD YZF-R6 +0.349 257
4 Nic LIMINTON  YZF-R6 +0.389 255
5 Max STAUFFER YZF-R6 +0.923 261
6 Jack HYDE YZF-R6 +1.208 263
7 Rhys BELLING YZF-R6 +1.311 258
8 Tom EDWARDS YZF-R6 +1.461 254
9 Broc PEARSON  YZF-R6 +1.528 259
10 Aidan HAYES YZF-R6 +1.590 258
11 Ted COLLINS GSXR +1.836 257
12 Luke MITCHELL YZF-R6 +2.152 259
13 Dallas SKEER  GSXR +2.340 257
14 Brodie MALOUF YZF-R6 +2.619 262
15 Chris QUINN  YZF-R6 +2.725 255
16 Ryan TAYLOR  YZF-R6 +3.249 255
17 Mitch KUHNE YZF-R6 +4.473 257
18 Patrick LI  YZF-R6 +4.712 257
19 Darren McGRATH YZF-R6 +5.652 247
20 Reid BATTYE YZF-R6 +5.834 252
21 Andrew EDSER  YZF-R6 +6.911 252
22 Stephany KAPILAWI-J  YZF-R6 +7.783 251
NC Ty LYNCH YZF-R6 -1:36.893 /


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.