Record lap earns Maxwell Phillip Island ASBK pole position

News 28 Feb 2020

Record lap earns Maxwell Phillip Island ASBK pole position

Bayliss secures Australian Supersport pole position on Friday afternoon.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Boost Mobile Ducati rider Wayne Maxwell soared to a new qualifying record at Phillip Island this afternoon to claim the first Mi-Bike Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) pole position of 2020.

After topping Q1, Maxwell posted a 1m31.942s in the final Kawasaki Superbike qualifying to secure P1 on the grid by over a full second from Cru Halliday (Yamaha Racing Team).

Joining Maxwell and Halliday on the front row when race one takes off tomorrow morning will be Josh Waters (JW Racing Suzuki), with the top five filled by Glenn Allerton (Maxima BMW) and Troy Herfoss (Penrite Honda Racing).

Positions six through 10 included defending champion Mike Jones (DesmoSport Ducati), Matt Walters (Kawasaki), Bryan Staring (Kawasaki BCperformance), Daniel Falzon (JD Racing Yamaha) and four-time American champion Josh Hayes (Yamaha).

Image: Russell Colvin.

In the Australian Supersport Championship qualifying session it was Oli Bayliss (Yamaha) who rode to pole position at 1m36.893s in the lone session this afternoon.

Bayliss led defending champion Tom Toparis (Yamaha), who is making a one-off appearance this weekend, and Jack Passfield (Yamaha), who will also start off of the front row. Nic Liminton (Yamaha) was next, with rookie Max Stauffer (Yamaha) impressing for P5.

Harry Khouri (Kawasaki) earned pole position in the Supersport 300 category, edging out Jacob Hatch (Yamaha) and Ben Baker (Yamaha), who will complete the front row this weekend.

Race one of the bLU cRU Oceania Junior Cup season was won by Lucas Quinn by a narrow 0.007s over Marianos Nikolis and Angus Grenfell. Cameron Dunker and Tom Drane were fourth and fifth, also within half a second of victory.

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.