Andrea Dovizioso tops FP1 in Malaysia from Rossi

2018 Malaysian MotoGP

Free Practice One Results

The man that has won here in Malaysia for the past two years has started where he left off by lapping the 5.54 km Sepang Circuit in an FP1 topping 1m59.697 this aftneroon. 

Valentino Rossi put in a late lap to come from outside the top ten into second place on the timesheets with a 1m59.767.  The #46 particularly fast in the second half of the circuit to push Phillip Island winning teammate Maverick Vinales back to third place.

MotoGP Phillip Island Rossi GP AN
Valentino Rossi – AJRN Image

The only other rider to get in the 1m59s in FP1 was Jack Miller. Like fellow Ducati rider Dovizioso it was the first half of the lap where Miller really shone, the Australian second only to the #4 Ducati through those first two splits. 

Miller’s teammate Danilo Petrucci was fifth quickest and recorded the highest top speed through the traps at 326.1 km/h. 

Suzuki’s Alex Rins and Aprilia’s Aleix Espargaro were next in sixth and seventh respectively just aheaed of Alvaro Bautista and Johann Zarco.

Marc Marquez rounded out the top ten as the leading Honda but obviously did not bother putting in a time attack lap in the session, his best a 2m00.801. 

Jorge Lorenzo did put in 12 laps during the session and slowly built his pace but was still last on the timesheets at session end. It will be interesting to see if Lorenzo participates in FP2 and to whether he will stay on the bike for the rest of the weekend or be replaced by Ducati test rider Michele Pirro. 

Sepang Free Practice One Results
  1. Pos Rider Team Time
    1. Dovizioso A. Ducati Team 1:59.697
    2. Rossi V. Movistar Yamaha +0.070
    3. Vinales M. Movistar Yamaha +0.231
    4. Miller J. Alma Pramac Racing +0.244
    5. Petrucci D. Alma Pramac Racing +0.485
    6. Rins A. Team Suzuki Ecstar +0.544
    7. Espargaro A. Aprilia Racing Team Gresini +0.855
    8. Bautista A. Angel Nieto Team +0.967
    9. Zarco J. Monster Tech 3 +1.029
    10. Marquez M. Repsol Honda +1.104
    11. Iannone A. Team Suzuki Ecstar +1.276
    12. Nakagami T. LCR Honda +1.502
    13. Morbidelli F. Marc VDS Racing Team +1.512
    14. Smith B. Red Bull KTM Factory Racing +1.533
    15. Bradl S. LCR Honda +1.616
    16. Pedrosa D. Repsol Honda +1.623
    17. Syahrin H. Monster Tech 3 +1.722
    18. Redding S. Aprilia Racing Team Gresini +1.993
    19. Espargaro P. Red Bull KTM Factory Racing +2.128
    20. Luthi T. Marc VDS Racing Team +2.225
    21. Abraham K. Angel Nieto Team +2.400
    22. Simeon X. Reale Avintia Racing +2.404
    23. Torres J. Reale Avintia Racing +2.754
    24. Lorenzo J. Ducati Team +3.507


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *