WSBK | Will Bautista break Rea’s Assen stranglehold?

World Superbike standings heading to Assen
Pos Rider Team Pts
1. Bautista Alvaro Racing–Ducati SBK Team 186
2. Rea Jonathan Kawasaki Racing Team 147
3. Lowes Alex Pata Yamaha Official WSBK Team 100
4. van der Mark Michael Pata Yamaha Official WSBK Team 79
5. Haslam Leon Kawasaki Racing Team 74
6. Melandri Marco GRT Yamaha WorldSBK 63
7. Davies Chaz Racing–Ducati SBK Team 56
8. Cortese Sandro GRT Yamaha WorldSBK 56
9. Sykes Tom BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team 39
10. Torres Jordi Pedercini Racing Kawasaki 35
11. Rinaldi Michael Ruben Barni Racing Team 35
12. Razgatlioglu Toprak Turkish Puccetti Racing 32
13. Laverty Eugene Team Go Eleven 27
14. Camier Leon Moriwaki-Althea HONDA Racing Team 17
15. Reiterberger Markus BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team 15
16. Mercado Leandro Orelac Racing VerdNatura 11
17. Kiyonari Ryuichi Moriwaki-Althea HONDA Racing Team 9
18. Delbianco Alessandro Althea MIE Racing Team 3

World Supersport

The 2019 WorldSSP season has three rounds complete and they’ve been three thrilling, record-shattering opening encounters. In what has been a Yamaha-dominated top end of the championship, other manufacturers are starting to creep into the podium battle. With the TT Circuit Assen ready to host the fourth round of the championship, a circuit that continuously provides some of the best action in WorldSSP, we could be set for yet another fair-bashing, elbow-to-elbow contest!

WSBK Aragon WSS Krummenacher
Randy Krummenacher

Championship leader Randy Krummenacher took a stunning win at the MotorLand Aragon circuit during the Motocard Aragon Round. The Swiss veteran extended his championship lead and is looking to continue the form at a circuit which he put in a stunning performance at in 2018. Finishing second after dropping down to 18th from sixth on the grid, Krummenacher will be one of the favourites ahead of the Assen race. Will he become the first Swiss rider in WorldSSP history to achieve back-to-back wins?

It was a tricky Motocard Aragon Round for Jules Cluzel, who finished a race outside the top four for the first time since Phillip Island in Australia, 2018. The Frenchman will be looking to return to the podium in The Netherlands, having achieved a podium at the famed venue for the past two seasons; including one win at the track in 2018. 14 points separate the leading two in the championship. His teammate, Corentin Perolari, is growing in stature with each race, so be sure to watch out for him, too!

WorldSBK Rnd Aragon Sun SSP Federico Caricasulo
Federico Caricasulo

Three third-places has seen Federico Caricasulo confirm his front-running pace in the opening rounds. The Italian has been in the fight for the lead in the last two races and continues to edge a little bit closer to victory with each race completed. Always giving 100%, the 22-year-old failed to finish at Assen last season, whilst a best finish of sixth in 2017 is his main highlight at the circuit in the World Supersport class.

After his first podium of the 2019 WorldSSP season, Raffaele De Rosa took the challenge to the Yamahas that have dominated the championship so far. The Italian came from sixth on the grid to lead at the MotorLand Aragon circuit, before finishing a close second behind championship leader Krummenacher. With De Rosa comes years of experience at Assen, a circuit which he was third at in WorldSSP in 2018, for his first class podium, whilst being a winner in the FIM European Superstock 1000 class in 2016. Discount him at your peril.

WSBK Aragon Cluzel
Jules Cluzel
World Supersport Standings following Aragon
  1. Randy Krummenacher 70 points
  2. Jules Cluzel 56
  3. Federico Caricasulo 48
  4. Raffaele De Rosa 31
  5. Hikari Okubo 28
  6. Thomas Gradinger 24
  7. Corentin Perolari 24
  8. Hector Barbera 22
  9. Lucas Mahias 21
  10. Isaac Vinales 19

World Supersport 300

After an action-packed start to the WorldSSP300 season, the championship now heads to The Netherlands and the famous TT Circuit Assen for the second round! The circuit, near the northern city of Groningen, has provided first-class motorcycle racing for decades; the area of Assen can actually be traced back to 1925 for motorcycle racing, and this year’s WorldSSP300 field promises to make more history at the legendary Dutch circuit!

WorldSBK Rnd Aragon Sun SSP Race Gonzalez CQ
Manuel Gonzalez

Leading the field in the championship, Manuel Gonzalez took a brilliant first win at the MotorLand Aragon circuit, as he took victory on the final corner. The young Spaniard heads to the TT Circuit Assen, where he came from 16th on the grid to finish ninth in 2018, in hope of increasing his championship lead.

Hugo De Cancellis made a welcome step on the Aragon podium for the first top-three of his career. The Frenchman looked on course for a win but ended up finishing just 0.058s behind winner, Gonzalez. Last season, he was 0.352s from the point-scoring positions and will be looking to back up the podium achieved in Spain. Should he podium again, then he will be the first French rider in the WorldSSP300 class’ short but illustrious history to achieve back-to-back podiums.

WorldSBK Rnd Aragon Sun SSP Race Deroue CQ
Scott Deroue

Scott Deroue was the winner of the first ever Dutch round in the WorldSSP300 class, and he placed third at the circuit last season from tenth on the grid. Starting his season with a fine podium at MotorLand Aragon, he will hope to make it back-to-back podiums for a third season running. Can the Dutch rider be a hero at home for a third year?

Jan-Ole Jahnig will be looking to achieve a podium he narrowly missed out in MotorLand Aragon. The 18-year-old heads to Assen, a circuit which he was eighth at in 2018, having started from 20th on the grid. Always racing better than his Tissot Superpole result, be sure to keep your eyes peeled for this exciting young German prospect on Sunday!

WorldSBK Rnd Aragon Sun Tom Edwards WorldSSP Aragon
WorldSSP 300 at Aragon

Completing the top five in the championship is French rider, Andy Verdoia. Having achieved a career-best of fifth place at MotorLand Aragon from fifth on the grid, the result highlighted his ability to maintain a consistent pace throughout the weekend. However, he hasn’t been to Assen with the WorldSSP300 championship, so the weekend promises to be a big learning curve for him. Will he deliver once again?

Riders looking to make up on a poor opening round will be defending champion, Ana Carrasco, after she crashed out of Aragon, whilst Dorren Loureiro will also want to get his first points scored of the year. Fellow championship contender Galang Hendra Pratama will be eager to make up for his crash in Spain, whilst 2017 champion Marc Garcia will be hungry for a better result after finishing just 25th in the season opener.

WorldSBK Rnd Aragon Sun Tom Edwards Kawasaki
Tom Edwards was the top performing young Australian at Aragon

The top performing Australian at the previous round was Tom Edwards (Kawasaki ParkinGO Team) in 19th, while Tom Bramich (Carl Cox-RT Motorsports by SKM-Kawasaki) claimed 24th. Jack Hyde didn’t make the cut into the main race, finishing ninth in the Last Chance Race and will be hoping to graduate through to the main this weekend.

World Supersport 300 standings following Aragon
  1. Manuel Gonzalez 25 points
  2. Hugo De Cancellis 20
  3. Scott Deroue 16
  4. Jan-Ole Jahnig 13
  5. Andy Verdoïa 11
  6. Victor Steeman 10
  7. Omar Bonoli 9
  8. Bruno Ieraci 8
  9. Koen Meuffels 7
  10. Maximilian Kappler 6


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *