Wayne Maxwell back in Suzuki colours for ASBK 2019

Wayne Maxwell Team Suzuki Ecstar
Wayne Maxwell joins Team Suzuki Ecstar for 2019

GSX-R mounted riders have won almost half the Australian Superbike Championships contested this century, and in 2019 Suzuki are determined to add to that tally by fielding one of the strongest two-rider outfits ever to line up for an Australian Superbike Team.

Wayne Maxwell Team Suzuki Ecstar
Wayne Maxwell

Current rider Josh Waters has three ASBK Superbike Championships to his name (2009-2012-2017), and joining him in the Team Suzuki Ecstar squad for 2019 is long-time rival, and 2013 Australian Superbike, Champion Wayne Maxwell.

Wayne Maxwell won the 2013 Australian Superbike Championship on a GSX-R1000 Suzuki
Wayne Maxwell won the 2013 Australian Superbike Championship on a GSX-R1000 Suzuki

That 2013 Superbike Championship for Maxwell was won on a Suzuki GSX-R1000, and he is aiming to repeat that feat in season 2019.

Wayne Maxwell Team Suzuki Ecstar

Wayne Maxwell

“I’m very excited to be joining Team Suzuki ECSTAR Australia for the next two years. Last time Suzuki and I were paired together proved to be very successful, winning my first Australian Superbike championship. I’m really looking forward to getting back on the GSX-R1000, I know how fast and competitive the GSX-R is having raced against it the last few years, I’m super excited to get to work with Phil, Warren and the rest of the team on repeating our 2013 success.”

Wayne Maxwell won the 2013 ASBK Superbike Championship when he rode for Suzuki.
Wayne Maxwell won the 2013 ASBK Superbike Championship when he last rode for Suzuki.

The 36-year-old only this year broke his own ASBK Superbike outright pole lap record at Phillip Island that had stood since 2013, when that same weekend then 30-year-old took the Superbike Title for Suzuki by 34-points over Glenn Allerton.

Wayne Maxwell celebrates taking Superpole on the GSX-R1000 at Phillip Island in 2013

Suzuki are also working on a third, semi-satellite rider, for ASBK 2019 and soon hope to announce that signing too. Our tip for the gig is Alex Phillis.

Wayne Maxwell Team Suzuki Ecstar

Mat Mladin is taking young Max Croker up to the Superbike ranks in 2019 for his maiden season with the big boys.

Honda recently announced that Mark Chiodo would join 2018 ASBK Superbike Champion Troy Herfoss at Penrite Honda.

In 2019 Cru Halliday will step back up from Supersport to a Superbike ride at YRT alongside Daniel Falzon.

Glenn Allerton will line up again for NextGen BMW on an all-new S 1000 RR. Ted Collins may also have a seat on the BMW again next season.

Kawasaki look to have young Lachlan Epis joining Bryan Staring in the BCperformance squad.

And then of course there is that fella who will be turning up again on a red bike, three-time World Superbike Champion Troy Bayliss…

MotoGP ASBK CRw Bayliss Herfoss Allerton
Troy Bayliss – Image Colin Rosewarne

An ASBK pre-season test will be held at Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit on February 2-3.

2019 ASBK Calendar

  • ASBK Test – Phillip Island, VIC February 2 – 3
  • Round 1 – WSBK – Phillip Island, VIC February 21 – 24
  • Round 2 – Wakefield Park, Goulburn NSW March 22 – 24
  • Round 3 – The Bend, Tailem Bend, SA April 26 – 28
  • Round 4 – Morgan Park, Warwick, QLD July 5 – 7
  • Round 5 – Winton, Benalla, VIC September 6 – 8
  • Round 6 – Phillip Island, VIC October 4 – 6
  • Round 7 – SMP, Eastern Creek, NSW November 1 – 3

Source: MCNews.com.au

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *