Wagner on pole for Phillip Island ASBK opener

Halliday and Falzon complete Yamaha front row lock out.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Yamaha privateer Aiden Wagner has earned pole position for this weekend’s Motul Pirelli Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) opener at Phillip Island, lodging a stellar 1m32.191s lap-time in qualifying today.

The Queenslander leads a complete lock out of bLU cRU supported riders in the top three, as 2018 Supersport champion Cru Halliday (Yamaha Racing Team) and Daniel Falzon (Yamaha Racing Team) make up the front row after recording quick times of 1m32.552s and 1m32.572s respectively.

Team Suzuki Ecstar Australia’s Josh Waters fell just short of a front row start, setting a best-lap of 1m32.624s, while three-time Superbike world champion Troy Bayliss (DesmoSport Ducati) concluded the first five with a 1m32.759s lap-time.

Wayne Maxwell (Team Suzuki Ecstar Australia) was fraction behind in sixth, followed by Mike Jones (Kawasaki), reigning champion Troy Herfoss (Penrite Honda Racing), Glenn Allerton (Maxima BMW) and Bryan Staring (BCperformance Kawasaki).

Supersport and Supersport 300 details and results to come.

Detailed results

Source: CycleOnline.com.au

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *