Official 2019 Australian Superbike Championship calendar unveiled

Official 2019 Australian Superbike Championship calendar unveiled

Darwin dropped, Sydney Motorsport Park returns in the new year.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Motorcycling Australia (MA) has unveiled the official 2019 calendar for the Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK), confirming the series will continue with seven rounds in the new year.

Notable changes for 2019 include the absence of Darwin’s Hidden Valley Raceway, while Sydney Motorsport Park makes a welcome return, where it’s set to host the season finale at a later than usual date of 1-3 November.

The championship will kick off in conjunction with the opening round of the Superbike World Championship (WorldSBK) at Phllip Island on 21-24 February, before heading to Wakefield Park Raceway in New South Wales for round two on 22-24 March.

Round three will visit the world-class The Bend Motorsport Park in South Australia, scheduled for 26-28 April, before heading into a lengthy break. Racing will resume on 5-7 July at Morgan Park Raceway in Queensland followed by Winton Motor Raceway’s fifth stop on 6-8 September in Victoria.

Phillip Island is set to make it’s second appearance in the championship for penultimate round on 4-6 October prior to wrapping up in Sydney.

2019 Australian Superbike Championship calendar:
Rd1- 21-24 February – Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, VIC
Rd2 – 22-24 March – Wakefield Park Raceway, NSW
Rd3 – 26-28 April – The Bend Motorsport Park, SA
Rd4 – 5-7 July – Morgan Park Raceway, QLD
Rd5 – 6-8 September – Winton Motor Raceway, VIC
Rd6 – 4-6 October – Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, VIC
Rd7 – 1-3 November – Sydney Motorsport Park, NSW


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *