Jason Anderson dominates Sydney Supercross

Justin Brayton wins Australian Supercross Championship

The fourth instalment of the Monster Energy AUS-X Open Sydney has concluded in front of a sell-out crowd, with current World Champion Jason Anderson taking the win in all three final heat races. 

The American dominated the first two races and eventually won the third and final race after Aussie hero Chad Reed was stripped of his win due to a penalty of five-position being handed to the Aussie legend for using the Shannons Shortcut Lane a second time. 

AUS X Open Chad Reed Brayton
Chad Reed was penalised five positions in the third final

Jason Anderson

“To get the win down here in Sydney means a lot – last season we weren’t in the shape we are this year, so it’s a good place to be. This event is so rad with a really cool vibe and super chill, so I definitely hope I’m invited back in years to come,” commented Anderson.

Scotland’s Dean Wilson made a successful return to racing in position two, with Gold Coaster Dan Reardon putting in a solid ride for position three to finalise the podium at the 2018 Monster Energy AUS-X Open Sydney.

AUS X Open Jason Anderson Podium
SX1 Overall
Jason Anderon 75
Dean Wilson 62
Daniel Reardon 60

Both domestic class champions were crowned under the bright lights of Qudos Bank Arena on Saturday night. Each championship was a hard-fought affair this year, with both coming down to the very final race putting immense stress on the riders.

Honda 1-2 in Australian Supercross Championship

The Australian Supercross Championship was decided in Sydney, with American Justin Brayton wrapping up his third consecutive championship. Brayton was followed home in P2 by teammate Brett Metcalfe, with third place going to Reardon.

Justin Brayton

“I’m stoked to win this championship,” commented Brayton. “I was sick for the majority of the event, so to wrap up the championship really feels unbelievable. I’m wrapped for the Penrite Honda Team too, with my teammate Brett Metcalfe finishing second.”

AUS X Open Justin Brayton Champ
Justin Brayton

AUS-X Open Results

SX1 Final 1

  1. Jason Anderson
  2. Justin Brayton +3.724
  3. Dean Wilson +7.364
  4. Dan Reardon +11.788
  5. Luke Clout +11.887
  6. Brett Metcalfe +13.134
  7. Chad Reed +20.359
  8. Jace Owen +25.250
  9. Lawson Bopping +28.480
  10. Dylan Long +30.505

SX1 Final 2

  1. Jason Anderson
  2. Dan Reardon +3.353
  3. Dean Wilson +4.015
  4. Chad Reed +8.670
  5. Brett Metcalfe +14.420
  6. Justin Brayton +16.270
  7. Luke Clout +19.227
  8. Lawson Bopping +23.333
  9. Jace Owen +23.776
  10. Dylan Long +25.272

SX1 Final 3

  1. Jason Anderson
  2. Dean Wilson +2.014
  3. Dan Reardon +9.058
  4. Dylan Long +14.071
  5. Justin Brayton +18.705
  6. Chad Reed -2.195 (penalised 5 positions)
  7. Jace Owen +21.064
  8. Brett Metcalfe +22.203
  9. Luke Clout +36.894
  10. Robbie Marshall +1 lap

SX1 Overall

  1. Jason Anderon 75
  2. Dean Wilson 62
  3. Daniel Reardon 60
  4. Justin Brayton 53
  5. Chad Reed 47
  6. Brett Metcalfe 44
  7. Luke Clout 42
  8. Dylan Long 40
  9. Jace Owen 39
  10. Lawson Bopping 35

Final SX1 Championship Points

  1. Justin Brayton 115
  2. Brett Metcalfe 106
  3. Dan Reardon 90
  4. Jace Owen 84
  5. Dylan Long 77
  6. Luke Clout 72
  7. Robbie Marshall 57
  8. Lawson Bopping 53
  9. Jesse Dobson 41
  10. Nicholas Sutherland 39

Jay Wilson SX2 Champion

Yamaha’s Jay Wilson completed the ultimate comeback to the sport tonight in Sydney, with the New South Welshman coming back from the brink of retirement just one year ago, to claim the coveted SX2 Championship.

Wilson secured the title in dramatic fashion, as he only just qualified for the main event in the final transfer position.

The chaos continued to unfold, with Wilson’s poor qualifying position giving him the very last gate pick, and subsequently, he didn’t get off the line well in any of the three races.

Despite the drama, tears flowed at the conclusion of Main Event number three, as Wilson was crowned Champion.

Championship aside, the race for the AUS-X Open Overall in SX2 was one to remember, with America’s Cameron McAdoo finishing the night on the top step of the podium due to an incredible pace.

In position two was 2017 Champion Jackson Richardson, and DPH Motorsports Hayden Mellross in third.

SX2 Final 1

  1. Jy Roberts
  2. Cameron McAdoo +0.837
  3. Dylan Wills +2.506
  4. Jacob Hayes +3.404
  5. Hayden Mellross +4.526

SX2 Final 2

  1. Jackson Richardson
  2. Cameron McAdoo +3.821
  3. Hayden Mellross +5.505
  4. Dylan Wills +7.762
  5. Jay Wilson +8.879

SX2 Final 3

  1. Jackson Richardson
  2. Cameron McAdoo +0.534
  3. Hayden Mellross +1.435
  4. Josh Osby +2.681
  5. Jacob Hayes +3.510

SX2 Overall

  1. Cameron McAdoo 66
  2. Jackson Richardson 65
  3. Hayden Mellross 56
  4. Dylan Wills 53
  5. Jacob Hayes 45
  6. Jay Wilson 43
  7. Josh Osby 42
  8. Aaron Tanti 39
  9. Tomas Ravenhorst 37
  10. Kaleb Barham 36

SX2 Final Championship Points

  1. Jay Wilson 103
  2. Hayden Mellross 97
  3. Jacob Hayes 91
  4. Wilson Todd 75
  5. Jackson Richardson 74
  6. Josh Osby 68
  7. Aaron Tanti 62
  8. Dakota Alix 61
  9. Dylan Wills 60
  10. Bradley Taft 50

Two-Stroke Cup

The two-stroke cup class was taken out by KTM’s Ryan Marmont, as the age-old rivalry between Craig Anderson and Danny Ham added another chapter in Sydney. The two spent most of the race dueling with each other for the final place before Ham crashed into a wall in a desperate pass attempt on the final lap.

Best Whip

Victorian Ace Cheyne Boyd claimed the coveted Best Whip competition, finishing ahead of 2017 Champion – Corey Creed, and Honda rider Steve Mini.

International Showdown

In the Boost Mobile International Showdown Chad Reed lead team Australia to the win over the Americans.

Best Trick competition

Finally, in the Monster Energy Best Trick competition Blake ‘Bilko’ Williams took the spoils with a 360 splits and a cliffhanger backflip to claim the trophy.

The S-X Open Oceania Championship now rolls onto New Zealand in two weeks time, with more champions set to be crowned inside Mt Smart Stadium for the Monster Energy S-X Open Auckland on November 24.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *