Brayton on provisional pole at AUS-X Open Sydney

News 9 Nov 2018


Brayton on provisional pole at AUS-X Open Sydney

Hayes tops SX2 timesheets as Cuka and West earn junior class titles.

Image: Supplied.

Current Australian Supercross Championship SX1 points leader Justin Brayton (Penrite Honda Racing) has landed on provisional pole in Friday’s qualifying at the Monster Energy AUS-X Open Sydney.

The number one plated American lodged a stellar 32.005s time to position himself atop the timesheets, as Yamaha-mounted Dan Reardon sliced his way to the second fastest time of 32.650s, just ahead of international star Dean Wilson (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna) in third.

Reigning Monster Energy AMA Supercross champion Jason Anderson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) was fourth fastest, followed by fifth’s Lawson Bopping in his return to the CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team.

KTM Motocross Racing Team’s Luke Clout finished sixth on the timesheets ahead of Australian supercross legend Chad Reed (Autotrader Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing), while the top 10 was rounded out by Jace Owen (Complete Parts Kawasaki Racing), Brett Metcalfe (Penrite Honda Racing) and Dylan Long (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team).

American guest Jacob Hayes (Serco Yamaha) topped the SX2 times with a blistering 33.090s, comfortably edging out Jy Roberts’ (Husqvarna) time of 33.896s. Serco Yamaha’s Wilson Todd pushed through for the quickest time, as the top five was rounded out by championship leader Jay Wilson (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) and Kyle Webster (Penrite CRF Honda Racing).

Positions six through to 10 were completed by Aaron Tanti (Complete Parts Kawasaki Racing), Hayden Mellross (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna), Jackson Richardson (Penrite CRF Honda Racing), Dylan Wills (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna) and Josh Osby (Raceline Pirelli KTM).

Mason Rowe (KTM) captured victory in the SX2 qualification race, which saw the top four riders granted an opportunity to contest tomorrow night’s show. He was joined by Cooper Pozniak (Yamaha), Blake Cobbin (KTM) and Josh Brewster (KTM) in the first four.

Former champion Ryan Marmont (KTM) dominated both heats of the 2-Stroke Cup, defeating Justin Carafa (Yamaha) and Taylor Potter (Honda) in the opening outing, while the second time out he beat home Danny Ham (Yamaha) and Carafa.

A third in the Junior Lites class was enough for Yamaha’s Jake Cuka to clinch the title, while Brandon Steel (KTM) broke through for the overall win in Sydney ahead of Steel and Jai Walker (Husqvarna).

The Junior 85cc championship was wrapped by Brad West (Kawasaki) following a thrilling finale, as the night was taken out by Cambell Williams (KTM), Jack Mather (KTM) and Ryder Kingsford (Yamaha).

Qualifying and racing resumes tomorrow night along with an extensive schedule of entertainment at Qudos Bank Arena for the main show of the AUS-X Open, which will mark the final round of the Australian Supercross Championship.

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *