bLU cRU Oceania Junior Cup status boost | 2019 Entry List

bLU cRU Oceania Junior Cup Gets Dorna Support

Oceania Junior Cup 2019 Entry list announced

The pathway to World Championship Grand Prix racing as become a little easier for aspiring young Oceania talent, with Dorna having just announced that the bLU cRU Oceania Junior Cup has now been afforded Road to MotoGP status alongside the two other main Grand Prix feeder series such as the Idemitsu Asia Talent Cup and Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup. Riders competing in bLU cRU Oceania Junior Cup – and in spirit with the ‘Road to MotoGP’ effort now have a direct path to Motorcycle Grand Prix Racing.

Riders from the Oceania Junior Cup will also be given the chance to attend the Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup Selection Event in 2019. This has been made possible by the continued support provided by Motorcycling Australia, the Federation Internationale de Motocyclisme (FIM) and FIM Oceania, the regional representatives of the FIM.

MotoGP Valencia Moto Can Oncu
Dorna’s talent programs bearing fruits. Red Bull Rookies cup rider’ Can Oncu debuted in Moto3 via a wildcard in and won at 15, setting a new record.

Born from the desire to develop exceptional Australian motorcycle road racing talent, this announcement is particularly great news for juniors looking for a structured pathway to Grand Prix Motorcycle Racing. As is the excitement and interest, the bLU cRU Oceania Junior Cup received many applications from an impressive array of junior competitors from across the country, hailing from nearly every motorcycling discipline including Road Race, Motocross, Dirt Track, Enduro and Speedway. Included in the line-up is a strong representation from four Australian States, two female contenders and a representative from New Zealand also. 

Peter Goddard
Peter Goddard

Peter Goddard, Motorcycling Australia President:

“For Dorna to endorse the Oceania Junior Cup under the Road to MotoGP program is an exciting opportunity for all involved and adds a substantial level of credibility to what we are trying to achieve. Such an important partnership cements the key criteria of the program, creating a clear progression plan between the Oceania Junior Cup and the world stage. The development of the next World Champion from our region has received a huge boost today.”

Randy Mamola and Carmelo Ezpeleta
Carmelo Ezpeleta

Carmelo Ezpeleta, CEO of Dorna Sports:

“We are delighted to welcome another series to our Road to MotoGP program. The Road to MotoGP is going from strength to strength and has an incredibly successful record in finding and promoting talent. The bLU cRU Oceania Junior Cup will be an asset to the program and perfectly complements our aims for the Oceania region. We’re excited to begin this new collaboration.”

After careful consideration, MA would like to introduce you to the 26 bLU cRU Oceania Junior Cup finalists, for the class of 2019!


Rider First Name Surname State
11 Natalie Barbati VIC
12 Reece Oughtred VIC
14 Jacob Hatch QLD
15 Zak Pettendy NSW
17 Hunter Diplock NSW
18 Tom Connors NSW
21 Carter Thompson NSW
22 Lincoln Knight NSW
24 Jamie Port VIC
26 Dominic Fletcher NSW
27 Toby James VIC
28 Cormac Buchanan NZ
31 Max Gibbons QLD
32 Jai Russo NSW
36 Angus Grenfell VIC
37 Patrick Bognar VIC
39 Glenn Nelson QLD
42 Cros Francis NSW
44 Pyper Kent WA
46 Marianos Nikolis NSW
53 Alex Kenworthy-Jones NSW
55 Varis Fleming VIC
58 Lucas Quinn QLD
59 Tom Drane NSW
69 Archie McDonald NSW
74 Jacob Roulstone NSW

The maiden season kicks off with the Official ASBK Test at Phillip Island in February 2-3, before racing commences for Round 1 at Wakefield Park Raceway in Goulburn, New South Wales, on March 22-24. Running alongside the Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) for 5 of the 6 rounds, the program will introduce the finalists to the highest level of Australian road race competition and exemplify the focus and mentality required to become a true champion.

2019 bLU cRU Oceania Junior Cup Calendar
Official ASBK Test – Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit – Phillip Island, VIC      2 – 3 Feb
1 Wakefield Park Raceway (ASBK) – Goulburn, NSW                            22 – 24 Mar
2 Broadford State Motorcycle Complex (MotoStars) – Broadford, VIC           6– 7 Apr
3 Morgan Park Raceway (ASBK) – Warwick, QLD                                         5 – 7 Jul
4 Winton Motor Raceway (ASBK) – Benalla, VIC                                            6 – 8 Sep
5 Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit (ASBK) – Phillip Island, VIC                      4 – 6 Oct
6 Round 6 – Sydney Motorsport Park (ASBK) – Eastern Creek, NSW                     1 – 3 Nov


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *