THREE-WAY FIGHT TO THE FINISH IN RACE 2! Aldi Mahendra pips Buis and Iglesias in EPIC last lap battle

The FIM Supersport 300 World Championship has served up some truly classic action across the weekend at Misano World Circuit “Marco Simoncelli”. Sunday’s Race 2 proved to be no different, with yet another fantastic fight to the finish from the front leaders of the Championship. With Daniel Mogeda (Team #109 Retro Traffic Kawasaki) ruled out of Sunday’s race after sustaining hand and rub injuries in his Race 1 crash, it was anyone’s game to see who would take the top step of the podium.

THREE RIDER DOGFIGHT: Mahendra, Buis and Iglesias battle for the ages

The front three were consistently strong across the entire race duration, before gearing themselves up for a grandstand finish. Reigning World Champion Jeffrey Buis (Freudenberg KTM-PALIGO Racing) and Inigo Iglesias (Fusport-RT Motorsports by SKM-Kawasaki) repeatedly swapped the lead for almost the entirety of the last lap, including heading into the final sector. Aldi Mahendra (Team BrCorse) took advantage of the two riders’ duel heading into the last corner, before ultimately sealing a famous win; his second ever win in the class and Yamaha’s first of the season in WorldSSP300. Buis and Iglesias ultimately pursued P2 and P3 respectively. Iglesias’ podium (his eighth in the class) saw Kawasaki claim 170 podium places in the class as well.

TOP SIX: Pratama leads the charge

Outside of the battle for the win, there was more than enough action for the top six places. Fellow Indonesian rider Galang Pratama (ProGP NitiRacing) secured himself a very solid P4 placing at Misano, whilst being extremely competitive amongst the front pack of riders. Marco Gaggi (Team BrCorse) confirmed a very solid weekend by finishing P5 at Misano on Sunday. Rounding out the top six was David Salvador (MS Racing) who secured P6 by the end of an eventful Sunday at Misano.

ROUNDING OUT THE TOP TEN: Hard fought battle for the rest

As always, the battle for the top ten saw some truly intense fighting, with Jose Osuna Saez (DEZA-BOX 77 Racing Team) picking up an impressive P7 placing by the end of the race. Elia Bartolini (Yamaha Motoxracing WorldSSP300 Team) picked up P8, whilst Marc Garcia (KOVE Racing Team) and Mirko Gennai (MTM Kawasaki) rounded out the top ten by finishing P9 and P10 respectively.

The top six from WorldSSP300, full results here:

1. Aldi Satya Mahendra (Team BrCorse)

2. Jeffrey Buis (Freudenberg KTM-PALIGO Racing) +0.102s

3. Inigo Iglesias (Fusport-RT Motorsports by SKM-Kawasaki) +0.128s

4. Galang Hendra Pratama (ProGP NitiRacing) +0.129s

5. Marco Gaggi (Team BrCorse) +0.285s

6. David Salvador (MS Racing) +0.519s

Fastest lap: Mirko Gennai (MTM Kawasaki), 1’49.534s

WorldSSP300 standings

1. Inigo Iglesias (Fusport-RT Motorsports by SKM-Kawasaki) 98 points

2. Aldi Satya Mahendra (Team BrCorse) 86

3. Daniel Mogeda (Team#109 Retro Traffic Kawasaki) 63

4. Loris Veneman (MTM Kawasaki) 56

5. Jeffrey Buis (Freudenberg KTM-PALIGO Racing) 55

6. Petr Svoboda (Fusport-RT Motorsports by SKM-Kawasaki) 53

Check out all the WorldSSP300 action with the WorldSBK VideoPass!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *