STATS GUIDE: 200th straight points-scoring race for Yamaha, new names to write history in Barcelona?

333.3kph – The top speed record in Barcelona for WorldSBK is by Xavi Vierge (Team HRC) from 2022 with 333.3kph. He set a top speed record for Phillip Island in WorldSBK this year with 335.4kph.

200 – A Yamaha in the points in Race 1 will extend their streak to 200, a goal reached so far only by Ducati and Kawasaki. The all-time record streak is 344 by Ducati: Brainerd 1991 to Valencia 2005.

117 – After equalling Noriyuki Haga on 116 podiums in Phillip Island’s Superpole Race, Toprak Razgatlioglu (ROKiT BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) has the chance to move clearly into the top three of all-time with a 117th – it’d be BMW’s first in Barcelona.

60 – After missing out in Australia, Alvaro Bautista ( Racing – Ducati) can reach 60 wins in WorldSBK with one win this weekend.

54 – Ironically at Phillip Island, #54 of Razgatlioglu gave BMW their 54th podium place. They haven’t had a podium in back-to-back rounds since Donington Park, Most and Magny-Cours in 2022 with Scott Redding (Bonovo Action BMW) when he was in Shaun Muir’s team.

17 – One more rostrum for Andrea Locatelli (Pata Prometeon Yamaha) sees him match Ben Spies’ 17.

12 – 12 riders made it to the podium in Barcelona in 12 races run here: the record belongs to Alvaro Bautista, with seven (six wins), followed by Rea and Razgatlioglu at six.

10 – Bautista can become the 13th WorldSBK rider with ten poles; he took pole in Barcelona in 2023.

5 – The wins have always come from the first five grid spots in Barcelona, five from pole: Rea in Race 1, 2020, and Bautista in the last four races run.

4 – In Barcelona, we’ve had four polesitters so far for four different manufacturers: Rea (Kawasaki), Sykes (BMW), Lecuona (Honda) and Bautista (Ducati).

3 – Winner of the Superpole Race and Race 2 in Phillip Island, Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) is looking for a first hat-trick of wins. A Kawasaki rider hasn’t won three consecutive races since Jonathan Rea won the last two races of 2021 at Mandalika and the first race of 2022 at Aragon. Barcelona would also be the third circuit in which he achieves a WorldSBK win.

1 – For the first time since they raced together, none of the ‘Titanic Trio’ – Jonathan Rea (Pata Prometeon Yamaha), Alvaro Bautista ( Racing – Ducati) and Toprak Razgatlioglu (ROKiT BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) were able to win a race in the weekend. The last weekend without one of the Titanic Trio not on the podium is Jerez 2015. At the time, neither Razgatlioglu or Bautista had debuted in the series and there was no Superpole Race.

1 – Barcelona was the stage of a first WorldSBK podium for Axel Bassani, in 2021: second in Race 1. It was also the scene of Garrett Gerloff’s (Bonovo Action BMW) first podium in 2020 with P3 in Race 2 for Yamaha. Iker Lecuona (Team HRC) also took his first and so far only pole in 2022.

THE NEW ERA HAS IGNITED: enjoy 2024’s WorldSBK season with the WorldSBK VideoPass!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *