PICKING UP WHERE HE LEFT OFF: Toprak tops WorldSBK Warm Up at Misano; Bulega P2

The MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship is well and truly back, and Sunday morning firmly picked up where Saturday left off, with Toprak Razgatlioglu (ROKiT BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) once again topping the timesheets.

 Nicolo Bulega (Aruba.it Racing – Ducati) continued to mount the pressure on “El Turco”, finishing the morning’s Warm Up session right behind his title rival in P2. Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) continued his impressive form from Saturday by rounding out the top three in Sunday morning’s Warm Up session. Reigning World Champion Alvaro Bautista continued his work to try and find an optimum race setup by finishing P4, whilst Australian Remy Gardner (GYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team) maintained his impressive pace from Saturday by finishing the Warm Up as the fastest Yamaha on track in P5. After showing such impressive pace during the start of Race 1 yesterday, Gardner might well look for another searing start during the Tissot Superpole Race.

The remainder of the top ten on Sunday morning saw Michael van der Mark (ROKiT BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) maintain his solid season start by finishing P6, whilst Michael Ruben Rinaldi (Team Motocorsa Racing) finally showed signs of speed with a P7 finish. Dominique Aegerter (GYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team) had enough pace for P8, whilst Andrea Locatelli (Pata Prometeon Yamaha), yesterday’s highest finishing Yamaha, finished the Warm Up in P9. Britain’s Scott Redding (Bonovo Action BMW) rounded out the top ten.

Elsewhere within the Warm Up on Sunday morning, Jonathan Rea (Pata Prometeon Yamaha) continued his struggles in a difficult opening to the season by finishing the morning session in a lowly P15. The Ulsterman will see if he is able to participate further on Sunday following a medical review. Iker Lecuona (Team HRC) was Honda’s highest finisher in P17, despite suffering a crash at turn 5 earlier in the session.

Top six after WorldSBK Warm Up, full results here:

  1. Toprak Razgatlioglu (ROKiT BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) 1’33.049s
  2. Nicolo Bulega (Aruba.it Racing – Ducati) +0.195s
  3. Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) +0.675s
  4. Alvaro Bautista (Aruba.it Racing – Ducati) +0.712s
  5. Remy Gardner (GYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team) +0.892s
  6. Michael van der Mark (ROKiT BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) +0.912s

Make sure you follow along with all of the action from Misano using the WorldSBK VideoPass!

Source: WorldSBK.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *