FAST FACTS: armchair ammo and home commentator notes for WorldSBK at Assen

Through the cloud and cold, the TT Circuit Assen welcomes the 2024 MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship for the third round of the season. The legendary Dutch venue has been a round of excitement, drama and passion throughout WorldSBK’s history and records often fall on this hallowed turf. Impress those around you with some World Superbike knowledge below.

2023 race winners:

  • Alvaro Bautista (Ducati: Race 1, Tissot Superpole Race Race 2)

Last three pole-sitters at Assen:

  • 2023: Alvaro Bautista (Ducati) 1’33.542
  • 2022: Toprak Razgatlioglu (Yamaha) 1’32.934
  • 2021: Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki) 1’33.842

Manufacturer podium places (and wins) accumulated from all races at Assen:

  • Ducati: 84 (31)
  • Honda: 39 (15)
  • Kawasaki: 32 (15)
  • Yamaha: 26 (2)
  • Aprilia: 9 (2)
  • Suzuki: 5

Key gaps from Assen 2023:

  • Front row covered by: 0.119s
  • 1 second in Superpole covered… the top 16: 0.946s
  • Closest race gap between 1st and 2nd: 0.916s (Bautista 1st, Rea 2nd, Superpole Race)
  • Closest race podium: 1.757s (Bautista 1st, Rea 2nd, Razgatlioglu 3rd, Superpole Race)
  • Closest Assen podium of all-time: 0.070s (Fogarty 1st, Corser 2nd, Kocinski 3rd, Race 2 1996)

Manufacturer top speeds at Assen, 2023:

  • BMW: Garrett Gerloff – 300.0kph, Superpole Race
  • Ducati: Alvaro Bautista – 297.5kph, FP1
  • Honda: Xavi Vierge – 297.5kph, Superpole Race
  • Kawasaki: Jonathan Rea and Alex Lowes and – 292.6 kph, FP1
  • Yamaha: Remy Gardner – 291.1kph, Superpole Race

Watch Assen from wherever you are and whenever you want with the WorldSBK VideoPass!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *