DOUBLE DELIGHT: Mogeda steals victory and completes the double at Assen

The FIM Supersport 300 World Championship continued to bring drama, with Daniel Mogeda (Team#109 Retro Trafc Kawasaki) completing the double at the TT Circuit Assen in a thrilling end to Race 2. This gave Mogeda the Championship lead in a race that was decided in the final meters.

PERFECT WEEKEND: Mogeda claims back-to-back victory

The WorldSSP300 treated the Dutch fans in Race 2 with an intense race, which was decided on the final lap. After setting up a perfect run on the exit to the final corner, Mogeda took his second race win and Kawasaki’s 59th victory in the class in a brilliant display of talent. Home hero Loris Veneman (MTM Kawasaki) snatched an incredible second place, missing out on a win by 0.040s. However, the Dutch rider did claim his third podium and finished ahead of Petr Svoboda (Fusport-RT Motorsport by SKM-Kawasaki), who finished third after a penalty for the #48.

UNBELIEVABLE: over 10 bikes battle for the win

Leading the field on the entry to turn one, Mogeda took the lead after a brave move on the #88 machine. The front two of Mogeda and Aldi Satya Mahendra (Team BrCorse had a comfortable gap at the end of lap one, with all 31 riders ending the first lap. The first incident of the race came on lap two of the race, with Ivan Bolano Hernandez (DEZA-BOX 77 Racing Team), Mattia Martella (Kawasaki GP Project), and Michel Agazzi (MS Racing) all falling on lap two. Just moments later, Marc Garcia (KOVE Racing Team) and Mirko Gennai (Kawasaki GP Project) had a crash of their own, and Gennai was able to remount.

The lead group began to bunch with Julio Garcia (KOVE Racing Team, leading an intense battle for the win. Britain’s Fenton Seabright’s (Kawasaki GP Project) day went from bad to worse – receiving a double LLP for a jump start and then crashing at the final corner with nine laps remaining. Inigo Iglesias (Fusport-RT Motorsport by SKM-Kawasaki) soon hit the front, leading the 14-bike group before Unai Calatayud (ARCO SASH MotoR University Team) crashed with two laps remaining.

UNPREDICTABLE: a drag race to the line

Elia Bartolini (Yamaha Motoxracing WorldSSP300 Team) led the field on the last lap before Mogeda reclaimed the lead on the #88 machine, setting the stage for the final lap before running wide and allowing Bartolini through. It was an incredible final sector with riders going three-wide, but Ruben Bijman (Team Flembbo-PL Performances) would crash, with a disappointing end to his race. Meanwhile, at the final chicane, Garcia led on entry before Mogeda stole victory on the run to the line in an epic drag race to the line.

TALENT PACKED: a talented top-10 with penalties changing positions

Iglesias is now six points behind the new Championship leader after finishing fourth ahead of Galang Hendra Pratama (ProGP NitiRacing), who rounded out the top five. After leading part of the race, Bartolini crossed the line in sixth position after a fantastic race. The #31 finished ahead of Marco Gaggi (Team BrCorse), who improved his result from Race 1, finishing Race 2 in seventh. Bruno Ieraci (Team ProDina Kawasaki) was eighth and scored his first finish of the weekend. Samuel Di Sora (ARCO SASH MotoR University Team) was behind Ieraci, just two seconds away from victory. However, the story goes further down to Garcia, who, after starting P26, the Spaniard would finish in third place but would later receive a three-second penalty, dropping Garcia to 10th place.

The top six from WorldSSP300 Race 2, full results here:

1. Daniel Mogeda (Team#109 Retro Traffic Kawasaki)

2. Loris Veneman (MTM Kawasaki) +0.040s

3. Petr Svoboda (Fusport-RT Motorsports by SKM-Kawasaki) +0.222s

4. Inigo Iglesias (Fusport-RT Motorsports by SKM-Kawasaki) +0.340s

5. Galang Hendra Pratama (ProGP NitiRacing) +0.458s

6. Elia Bartolini (Yamaha Motoxracing WorldSSP300 Team) +0.471s

Fastest lap: Julio Garcia, Kove – 1’49.127s 12:29

Championship standings:

1. Daniel Mogeda (Team#109 Retro Traffic Kawasaki) 63 points

2. Inigo Iglesias (Fusport-RT Motorsports by SKM-Kawasaki) 57

3. Petr Svoboda (Fusport-RT Motorsports by SKM-Kawasaki) 53

4. Loris Veneman (MTM Kawasaki) 43

5. Aldi Satya Mahendra (Team BrCorse) 41

6. Unai Calatayud (ARCO SASH MotoR University Team) 30

Next up, Misano! Watch every moment from the Pirelli Emilia-Romagna Round using the WorldSBK VideoPass!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *