Waters charges to Moree MX Nationals opening moto win

News 28 Jul 2019

Waters charges to Moree MX Nationals opening moto win

First MX2 moto to Crawford as Duffy increases advantage in MXD.

Image: Foremost Media.

DPH Motorsport Husqvarna’s Todd Waters claimed a decisive win in Thor MX1 moto one at Moree’s eighth round of the 2019 Pirelli MX Nationals.

Waters chased down Super Pole winner Kirk Gibbs (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) to take charge in the latter stages, which was a vital result for his title challenge.

Behind Waters and Gibbs, South Australian Brett Metcalfe (Penrite Honda Racing) was third, directly ahead of Dylan Long (Empire Kawasaki) as Richie Evans (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) put forward a strong performance for fifth on the rutty, technical layout.

Places sixth through 10th were completed by Caleb Ward (Davey Motorsports KTM), Connor Tierney (Yamaha), American Justin Rodbell (KSF Racing Suzuki), red plate-holder Luke Clout (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) and Lawson Bopping (Empire Kawasaki).

Clout was forced to recover from an early incident, while more importantly, Raceline KTM Thor’s Hayden Mellross had to settle for 11th after sustaining a knee injury in practice this morning. Another top rider, Jayden Rykers (Suzuki) crashed out in the early stages.

Image: Foremost Media.

The opening Pirelli MX2 sprint race saw Dylan Wills (Davey Motorsports KTM) holeshot and go on to win for the first time in 12 months.

Wills managed to remain out front for the duration, topping Nathan Crawford (Serco Yamaha) and Isaac Ferguson (Davey Motorsports KTM), Aaron Tanti (Serco Yamaha) and Joel Evans (Husqvarna).

Disaster struck Jay Wilson (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), who went down on lap one in the sand section while running second and then he was collected by defending champion Wilson Todd (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna). Todd crossed the line seventh and Wilson was 12th, one position ahead Kyle Webster (Penrite CRF Honda Racing) in P13.

Sprint two was won by Crawford in a continuation of his recent form ahead of Todd and Wilson, with Tanti and Wills completing the top five. Combined, Crawford took top points from Wills, Todd, Tanti, Wilson, Evans, Cooper Pozniak (KTM), Luke Reardon (Yamaha), Webster and Riley Ward (Davey Motorsports KTM).

Image: Foremost Media.

Moto one of the Motul MXD class was marred by multiple incidents that caused a delay for the opening MX1 moto, however it was series leader Regan Duffy (Raceline KTM Thor) who took the win.

Duffy won ahead of Brodie Ellis (Yamaha), who in turn was a couple of seconds up on New Zealander Maximus Purvis (WBR Yamaha) to complete the top three. In fourth position was Tye Jones (Husqvarna), followed by Jai Walker (KTM).

Detailed results

Source: MotoOnline.com.au

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.