Toparis earns Supersport overall victory in Sydney

News 3 Nov 2019

Toparis earns Supersport overall victory in Sydney

Agius lifts 2019 ASBK Supersport 300 crown at season-finale.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Supersport champion Tom Toparis claimed yet another overall victory in the category at Sydney Motorsport Park’s seventh and final round of the 2019 Motul Pirelli Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK).

It was WorldSSP300 regular Tom Edwards (Yamaha) who once again got off to an exceptional start in race two with Toparis quickly making his way into second position.

Oli Bayliss (Cube Racing) and Aidan Hayes (Yamaha) crashed together on lap two before they both remounted and continued racing, while by lap four Toparis briefly hit the lead.

Edwards and Toparis tussled for the top spot, but once the 2019 champion made the pass stick on lap six, he stretched out a comfortable 2.595s advantage as they crossed the line.

Jack Passfield (Yamaha) claimed third ahead of Broc Pearson (Yamaha) and Jack Hyde (Yamaha), as the top 10 was completed by Nic Liminton (Yamaha), Rhys Belling (Yamaha), Avalon Biddle (Cube Racing), Ty Lynch (Yamaha) and Dallas Skeer (Suzuki).

Overall it was Toparis from Edwards and Passfield, while in the championship standings, Toparis topped Pearson and Liminton.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Kawasaki-mounted Senna Agius lifted the Supersport 300 crown by one point over Max Stauffer (Yamaha) after capturing victory in race three, the youthful contender defeating Hunter Ford (Yamaha) and Seth Crump (KTM) during the final outing. Overall, it was Agius from Luke Jhonston (Yamaha) and Ford.

Zac Levy emerged with the Yamaha R3 Cup overall win and race three victory, while Ford earned the championship. The final encounter saw John Lytras (Yamaha) and Stauffer join Levy in the top three, while overall it was Levy from Ford and Lytras. Ford topped the standings ahead of Lytras and Stauffer.

In the Oceania Junior Cup, Marianos Nikolis (Yamaha) made two-consecutive races in the final outing to secure the overall, edging out Tom Drane (Yamaha) and Archie McDonald (Yamaha) – the trio finishing in that order for the round.

In the championship, Carter Thompson (Yamaha) claimed the title after race two, joined in the top three by Angus Grenfell (Yamaha) and Drane).

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.