Third victory of the year captured by Webb at SLC4

News 11 Jun 2020

Third victory of the year captured by Webb at SLC4

Forkner makes ground in 250SX West with pivotal Utah win.

Image: Octopi Media.

Defending Monster Energy Supercross champion Cooper Webb picked up his third win of the 2020 season at SLC4, delivering a commanding performance tonight in Utah.

The Red Bull KTM rider won by 5.091s over the in-form Zach Osborne (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna), as Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki) salvaged P3.

While Webb jumped out front early to withstand a challenge from a gritty Ken Roczen (Team Honda HRC) to lead every lap, Tomac was forced to climb from 12th at the end of the opening lap. Fourth was top-qualifier Blake Baggett (Rocky Mountain KTM WPS).

Roczen, meanwhile, again dropped back down the order from around the halfway point, eventually crossing the finish in fifth place as he continues to battle health problems through the Salt Lake City rounds.

It was another strong showing from Martin Davalos (Monster Energy Team Tedder KTM) in P6, followed by Jason Anderson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna), his teammate Dean Wilson, Aaron Plessinger (Monster Energy Yamaha) and Benny Bloss (Rocky Mountain KTM WPS).

Anderson has now moved to fourth in the standings after Monster Energy Yamaha’s Justin Barcia crashed out of the main event, his factory YZ450F too badly damaged to continue in what appeared to be a strange incident. Australia’s Chad Reed (Mountain Motorsports CR22 Racing KTM) rode to 11th after a solid start inside the top five.

The 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Championship will again be staged inside Rice-Eccles Stadium this Sunday, 14 June. Tomac currently carries a 27-point advantage over Webb, with Roczen a further two behind.

Image: Octopi Media.

Victory in Salt Lake City has lifted Austin Forkner into 250SX West title contention as the regional series restarted in 2020 Monster Energy Supercross.

The Monster Energy Kawasaki rider climbed to second in the standings with two rounds remaining, now within 10 points of the lead.

Forkner was able to get out front early and maintain the lead from there, keeping red plate-holder Dylan Ferrandis (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) at bay to win by 3.109s. Completing the podium was Forkner’s teammate Cameron McAdoo.

It was an important result for McAdoo as, although he wasn’t able to fend off Ferrandis, his finish took points away from top qualifier Justin Cooper (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha), who is now third in the points.

Finishing fifth was Michael Mosiman (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna), directly behind Cooper and comfortably ahead of Alex Martin (JGRMX Yoshimura Suzuki). Seventh through 10th included Brandon Hartranft (TLD Red Bull KTM), Christian Craig (Geico Honda), Derek Drake (TLD Red Bull KTM) and Mitchell Oldenburg (Penrite Honda Racing).

Returning for his first appearance since Anaheim 2, Geico Honda’s Jett Lawrence ran inside the top five early, but a fall demoted him to an 11th-place result. Elder brother and teammate Hunter endured a trying debut, going down on lap one of the final and ending up 13th, behind countryman Luke Clout (Penrite Honda Racing).

The 250SX West championship will continue with its penultimate round this Sunday, 14 June, with Ferrandis looking to set up back-to-back crowns in the final stages of the season.

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *