S-X Open Auckland victory goes to Anderson

Image: Foremost Media.

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Jason Anderson soared to victory in a thrilling 2019 Monster Energy S-X Open Auckland, the popular American winning two of three main events in the triple crown.

It was Brett Metcalfe (Penrite Honda Racing) who earned the hole-shot in main event one, leading the field for the opening laps before relinquishing the top spot to Anderson.

Carnage unfolded on lap one with Henry Miller (Raceline KTM Thor) and Joey Savatgy (JGRMX Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing) going down in separate incidents, as Anderson checked out and claimed victory.

Metcalfe held on for second over points leader Justin Brayton (Penrite Honda Racing), while CDR Yamaha Monster Energy trio Luke Clout, Dan Reardon and Josh Hill completed positions four to six across the line – Clout and Reardon battled for a number of laps, with the number four getting the better of veteran Reardon.

Hill was later handed a one-position penalty post-race for a track infringement, putting him seventh behind Richie Evans (Yamalube Yamaha Racing). Jackson Richardson (Honda), Miller and Lawson Bopping (Empire Kawasaki) were eighth, ninth and 10th. Chad Reed was notably absent, the Honda-mounted rider going down in his heat while dealing with a rib injury.

A thrilling race two saw heavy-hitters Hill, Clout and Anderson all use the shortcut lane, making an unpredictable encounter. Hill grabbed the hole-shot and took the shortcut lane early on, while Anderson used it later in the outing, promoting himself to first.

Clout fired back on the penultimate lap, pushing him to P1 – it was enough for him to charge to victory ahead of Anderson and Hill. Brayton was fourth over teammate Metcalfe, while Savatgy rebounded for sixth. The top 10 was completed by Reardon, Miller, Richardson and Dylan Long (Empire Kawasaki).

Anderson put on an incredible display in the finale, overcoming Reardon – who took the shortcut lane – in the closing stages of the race to secure victory. Reardon settled for second ahead of Metcalfe, as Clout edged out Brayton for fourth – the three-time champion recovering from a crash. Bopping was sixth ahead of Hill, Long, Joel Wightman (Honda) and Cody Cooper (Honda).

Anderson captured the overall ahead of Clout, who now leads the Australian Supercross Championship by one point over Brayton, as Metcalfe earned a season-first podium. The series now heads to Victoria for the AUS-X Open Melbourne on 30 November.

Detailed results

Source: MotoOnline.com.au

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.