S-X Open Auckland qualifying topped by Brayton and Oldenburg

Image: Foremost Media.

Penrite Honda Racing duo Justin Brayton and Mitchell Oldenburg have topped qualifying in the SX1 and SX2 categories at the 2019 Monster Energy S-X Open Auckland, marking round four of the Australian Supercross Championship.

Three-time defending champion and current points leader Brayton stormed to the top spot with a time of 47.541s late in the session, edging out Dan Reardon for P1 – the CDR Yamaha Monster Energy rider posting a 47.728s time.

Making his first appearance in New Zealand, former AMA Supercross champion Jason Anderson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) was third on the timesheets with a fast-time of 48.113s.

Round three winner Luke Clout (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) was fourth ahead of teammate Josh Hill (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy), while the top 10 was completed by Joey Savatgy (JGRMX Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing), Henry Miller (Raceline KTM Thor), Brett Metcalfe (Penrite Honda Racing), Lawson Bopping (Empire Kawasaki) and Jackson Richardson (Honda).

Image: Foremost Media.

Fan-favourite and dual AMA Supercross champion Chad Reed (Penrite Racing Mountain Motorsports Honda) was 13th on the timesheets, the number 22 completing just five laps as he deals with a pair of broken ribs.

In the SX2 category, Oldenburg went fastest once again with a blistering 49.228s lap, topping an impressive Kyle Webster (Penrite Pirelli CRF Honda Racing) in second, who recorded a 49.297s time.

Points leader Josh Osby (Raceline KTM Thor) was third after setting a 49.484s lap, while the top five was rounded out by American duo Chris Blose (Penrite Honda Racing) and Bradley Taft (Empire Kawasaki).

Defending champion Jay Wilson (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) was sixth ahead of Aaron Tanti (Serco Yamaha), as positions eight to 10 were fulfilled by Dylan Wills (Davey Motorsport KTM), Rhys Budd (Penrite Pirelli CRF Honda Racing) and Connor Tierney (Serco Yamaha).

Detailed results

Source: MotoOnline.com.au

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.