Pivotal race one ASBK victory and points lead for Jones in Sydney

News 3 Nov 2019

Pivotal race one ASBK victory and points lead for Jones in Sydney

Herfoss and Maxwell complete the top three as title race tightens.

Image: Russell Colvin.

DesmoSport Ducati’s Mike Jones has claimed a pivotal victory over Troy Herfoss (Penrite Honda Racing) in a thrilling race one at Sydney Motorsport Park’s final round of the 2019 Motul Pirelli Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK), the Queenslander now leading the points with the title to be decided in this afternoon’s race two.

It was Wayne Maxwell (Team Suzuki Ecstar) who got out to the lead at turn one, leading pole-sitter Daniel Falzon (Yamaha Racing Team) and reigning champion Herfoss.

Falzon made the pass on Maxwell as they entered lap two, while Jones progressed to third. Falzon’s time at the front was short-lived as Maxwell regained the lead on lap four, the Yamaha pilot going down one lap later.

It was at the same time Jones stole the lead from Maxwell with an excellent pass, the Ducati rider setting his sights on a pivotal victory.

Herfoss also made the pass on Maxwell during lap nine and put on an incredible charge to latch onto the back of Jones – the duo fighting right down to the very last laps, although it was Jones who had the edge to capture victory by 0.341s.

Maxwell hung on for third after significant pressure from Bryan Staring (Kawasaki BCperformance) and Cru Halliday (Yamaha Racing Team), the duo finishing fourth and fifth respectively.

Jamie Stauffer (McMartin Racing) was sixth, followed by Mark Chiodo (Penrite Honda Racing), Glenn Allerton (Maxima BMW), Josh Waters (Team Suzuki Ecstar) and Damon Rees (Honda).

Jones leads Herfoss by half a point heading into race two, while Maxwell is positioned 5.5 points behind the leader.

Detailed results

Source: CycleOnline.com.au

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.