Narrow race three win grants Bayliss maiden Supersport overall victory

News 1 Mar 2020

Narrow race three win grants Bayliss maiden Supersport overall victory

Khouri dominates Supersport 300 class at Phillip Island.

Image: Russell Colvin.

As slender victory in the final Supersport encounter of Phillip Island’s Mi-Bike Motorcycle Insurance Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) opener has granted Oli Bayliss is first-ever overall win in the category.

The Cube Racing rider managed to fend off a charge from reigning champion Tom Toparis (Yamaha), as just 0.017s separated across the chequered flag in what was an incredible photo finish.

WorldSSP300 regular Tom Edwards (Yamaha) rounded out the podium in the race three, just a fraction off the leaders, as the top five was completed by Jack Passfield (Yamaha) and Nic Liminton (Yamaha).

Pole position, a pair of race wins and a runner-up result is what it took for Bayliss to stand atop the podium, joined by Toparis and Liminton.

Image: Russell Colvin.

In the Supersport 300 category, Kawasaki-mounted Harry Khouri stormed to another dominant win in race three to secure the overall victory, edging out Archie McDonald (Yamaha) and Luke Johnston (Kawasaki) in the final outing. The pair joined Khouri on the overall podium, with Jhonston securing second over McDonald.

The Oceania Junior Cup saw Lucas Quinn storm to victory in race three over Marianos Nikolis (Yamaha) and Tom Drane (Yamaha), the overall top three completed by Quinn, Nikolis and Cameron Dunker (Yamaha).

The ASBK now heads to Wakefield Park in New South Wales on 27-29 March for round two.

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.