Maxwell goes beneath ASBK record on day two of Phillip Island test

News 30 Jan 2020

Maxwell goes beneath ASBK record on day two of Phillip Island test

Reigning champion Jones second on timesheets ahead of Herfoss.

Image: Russell Colvin.

McMartin Racing’s Wayne Maxwell has set a blistering time at the Phillip Island ASBK test to go beneath the Australian Superbike qualifying lap-record held by Mike Jones (DesmoSport Ducati).

Maxwell topped the timesheets for the second day running in a Ducati dominated day, the former champion putting down a record-breaking 1m31.776s in the third session of the day.

Reigning champion Jones was runner-up with a 1m32.434s, as the top three was rounded out by multi-time title holder Troy Herfoss (Penrite Honda Racing), who recorded a 1m32.497s in the final session of the test.

Kawasaki BCperformance’s Bryan Staring improved his time with a 1m32.603s for fourth, followed by Yamaha Racing Team newcomer Aiden Wagner, who posted a 1m32.792s time.

Yamaha privateer Daniel Falzon was sixth ahead of Josh Waters (Suzuki), Cru Halliday (Yamaha Racing Team), Matt Walters (Kawasaki) and Lachlan Epis (Suzuki).

Reigning Supersport champion Tom Toparis (Kawasaki) went fastest in the category on day two with a 1m36.185s time, while Jack Hyde’s (Yamaha) 1m36.469s from day one was still good enough for second.

Nic Liminton (Yamaha) set a 1m36.605s time to finish in third, as Oli Bayliss (Cube Racing) and Jack Passfield (Yamaha) were fourth and fifth respectively.

Kawasaki-mounted Tom Bramich was quickest in the Supersport 300 category, finishing ahead of Harry Khouri (Kawasaki) and Luke Jhonston (Yamaha), while the Oceania Junior Cup was topped by Marianos Nikolis (Yamaha) followed by Angus Grenfell (Yamaha) and Cameron Swain (Yamaha).

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.