Herlings returns to winners circle at MXGP of Turkey

News 9 Sep 2019

Herlings returns to winners circle at MXGP of Turkey

Prado wins MX2 as Australian Evans winds up 11th overall.

Image: Supplied.

In just his second race back from injury, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings has claimed victory at MXGP of Turkey’s penultimate round of the world championship.

Herlings recorded a 1-1 scorecard across the pair of motos, making a last lap manoeuvre on Glenn Coldenhoff (Standing Construct KTM) in the final outing to claim victory.

Coldenhoff ultimately earned second overall ahead of Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Pauls Jonass, as 2019 MXGP world champion Tim Gajser (Honda HRC) and Ivo Monticelli (Standing Construct KTM) closed out the top five.

In the MX2 category, recently-crowned world champion Jorge Prado (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) once again reigned supreme with a perfect 1-1 results sheet, edging out Jago Geerts (Monster Energy Kemea Yamaha) and F&H Kawasaki Racing’s Roan Van De Moosdijk.

Team SM Action Yamaha team’s Maxime Renaux was fourth followed by Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Tom Vialle, while Australian Mitch Evans (Team Honda 114 Motorsport) was 11th overall with 14-9 results.

The Women’s Motocross World Championship was wrapped up by New Zealand’s Courtney Duncan, the DRT Kawasaki rider also claiming victory in Turkey over Sara Andersen (KTM) No Fear Yamaha team’s Nancy Van De Ven. The MXGP now heads to Shanghai in China for the final round on 15 September.

Detailed results

Source: MotoOnline.com.au

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.