Dominant Herfoss secures Wakefield Park ASBK overall win

Toparis and Stauffer credited Supersport and Supersport 300 overall wins.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Troy Herfoss (Penrite Honda Racing) has claimed his first overall victory of the season at Wakefield Park’s second round of the 2019 Motul Pirelli Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK), the reigning champion lodging a perfect 1-1 scorecard in New South Wales.

Herfoss shot out to the lead immediately in race two with a perfect start, controlling the encounter while the action unfolded behind him, ultimately earning a 0.367s win in a shortened outing that saw the race declared after 13 laps due to a fall from Lachlan Epis (BCperformance Kawasaki) that resulted in a red-flag.

Cru Halliday (Yamaha Racing Team) pulled through for second after starting from pole, riding a supremely consistent race while keeping Herfoss in his sights. Mike Jones (DesmoSport Ducati) put on an exceptional display to overcome Wayne Maxwell (Team Suzuki Ecstar Australia) in the dying stages, while Daniel Falzon (Yamaha Racing Team) locked out the top five.

Former champion Josh Waters (Team Suzuki Ecstar Australia) was sixth followed by Matt Walters (Kawasaki Connection), Bryan Staring (BCperformance Kawasaki), Glenn Scott (GSR Kawasaki) and Alex Phillis (Team Suzuki Ecstar Australia). On the overall podium it was Herfoss from Halliday and Maxwell, while it’s Halliday who leads the standings with a five-point advantage.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Landbridge Yamaha’s Tom Toparis reigned supreme once again in Supersport race two, this time securing a 1.233s victory over Broc Pearson (Yamaha) to earn the overall win.

The New South Welshman faced increased competition in the final outing as Pearson and third place holder Reid Battye (Team Suzuki Ecstar Australia) posted improved lap-times, placing them within just a couple of tenths of Toparis’ best, who has dominated the year so far.

Fourth and fifth were credited to Oli Bayliss (Cube Racing) and Nic Liminton (Yamaha), while overall it was Toparis – who now holds a 35-point lead in the standings – followed by Pearson and Battye.

Image: Russell Colvin.

John Lytras (Yamaha) claimed victory in the final Supersport 300 encounter, which once again delivered a thrilling finish. Lytras led a Yamaha-filled podium, edging out Max Stauffer (Yamaha) by 0.066s, followed by Ben Baker (Yamaha) a further 0.261s.

The top five was rounded out by Hunter Ford (Yamaha) and Locky Taylor (Yamaha). Overall, Stauffer earned the win convincingly with two races win to his name, finishing ahead of Baker and Taylor. Lytras narrowly beat Stauffer and Baker in the Yamaha R3 Cup final, however it was Stauffer who was triumphant overall ahead of Lytras and Ford.

Carter Thompson (Yamaha) defeated Jacob Roulstone and Cros Francis (Yamaha) in the final Oceania Junior Cup outing to clean-sweep the weekend, becoming the first overall victor of the junior road racing academy series.

The Australian Superbike Championship will now head The Bend Motorsport Park in South Australia on 26-28 April, which will also feature round two of the 2019 Asia Road Racing Championship (ARRC).

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.