Champions crowned as AORC season is cancelled altogether

News 8 Oct 2020

Champions crowned as AORC season is cancelled altogether

Milner, Sanders and Styke the 2020 pro class title winners after three rounds.

Image: Foremost Media.

Motorcycling Australia (MA) has officially cancelled the 2020 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship, confirming that series champions have been crowned following three rounds of the scheduled 12-round the season.

The decision comes due to uncertainty surrounding state border closures as a result of COVID-19, however, the location of the revised final round to be held on 14-15 November in a shortened series never was finalised.

KTM Enduro Racing Team’s Daniel Milner clinched the E2 championship and was top point-scorer outright, while Daniel Sanders (Husqvarna Enduro Racing Team) defended his E3 title and Luke Styke (Yamaha Active8 Yamalube Racing) made it three-straight E1 crowns.

“We are very excited to be able to crown our 2020 Australian Off-Road Champions in all 14 classes,” said MA CEO Peter Doyle. “The championship wouldn’t be the world-class success it is without our key partners and sponsors Yamaha Motor Australia, MXstore, Ballard’s and Offroad Advantage.

“With record fields, expanded classes, strong competition and tremendous partners, it was shaping up to be fantastic year. We congratulate each of the riders on their amazing success and each becoming MA Australian champions.

“Whilst the 2020 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship, presented by MXstore, was interrupted, we are pleased about the growth of the championship in 2020 and can’t wait to see even bigger thing for AORC in 2021.”

Additional champions crowned following the cancellation include Korey McMahon (EJ), Jessica Gardiner (Women), Brad Hardaker (2-Stroke Cup), Lee Stephens (Veterans), Kirk Hutton (Masters), Jett Yarnold (J2), Billy Hargy (J3), Riley McGillivray (J4), Danielle McDonald (JG), Mason Boucher (J1) and Jack Stevenson (JJ).

Rounds one and two of the 2020 season were contested in Toowoomba, Queensland, before the series travelled to Dungog in New South Wales, however, inclement weather in the region meant that only round three was held that weekend prior to coronavirus spelling an end to the series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *