Blose crowned SX2 champion as Oldenburg wins in Melbourne

Image: Foremost Media.

Penrite Honda Racing’s Chris Blose has been crowned the SX2 champion in the 2019 Australian Supercross Championship, while it was teammate Mitchell Oldenburg (Penrite Honda Racing) who claimed victory at the Monster Energy AUS-X Open Melbourne.

It was Jett Lawrence (Geico Honda) who grabbed the hole-shot in race one while on debut, although his time at the front was short-lived after being passed by Chris Blose (Penrite Honda Racing) at the end of lap one.

Mitchell Oldenburg (Penrite Honda Racing) got by the rookie one lap later before engaging in a thrilling battle for the lead with Blose, ultimately securing victory over his teammate and fellow American.

Defending champion Jay Wilson (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) put in a stellar ride, making a number of passes throughout the encounter – his most impressive coming at the last turn on the final lap, passing Lawrence for third.

Lawrence was fourth ahead of points leader Josh Osby (Raceline KTM Thor), while the top 10 was rounded out by Connor Tierney (Serco Yamaha) – who was the first to take the Repco Shortcut lane – Darian Sanayei (Kawasaki), Geran Stapleton (Honda), Regan Duffy (Raceline KTM Thor), and Rhys Budd (Penrite Pirelli CRF Honda Racing).

It was another hole-shot for Lawrence in race two as Oldenburg and Kyle Webster (Penrite Pirelli CRF Honda Racing) went down, but it was Blose who stole the lead at the halfway mark.

Tanti advanced to third, however later went down heavily while battling Wilson – he was stretchered off the track with the Racesafe medical crew.

Wilson managed to advance to second, once again passing Lawrence in the dying stages. Lawrence was third ahead of Osby and Oldenburg, followed by Duffy, Tierney, Bradley Taft (Empire Kawasaki), Morgan Fogarty (Davey Motorsports KTM) and Budd.

Osby claimed the hole-shot in race three, however is woes on the night continued as he later went down. Blose quickly earned the lead as Lawrence pulled the trigger on the shortcut lane, passing a number of people to position himself in second.

He passed Blose and led the remainder of the encounter until the last turn, where Oldenburg jumped the quad in the last rhythm lane – the only 250 rider to do so – to earn the win ahead of the debutant.

With the championship essentially in hand, Blose evidently relaxed his way to fourth across the line behind Wilson, earning the title in the process.

Budd was highly impressive fifth over Duffy, with the top 10 completed by Stapleton, Taft, Tomas Ravenhorst (KTM), and Tierney. Osby 12th.

Overall, it was Oldenburg from Blose and Wilson, while in the championship, Blose claimed top honours ahead of Osby and Oldenburg. The S-X Open International FIM Oceania Supercross Championship SX2 title went to Blose.

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *