2020 AORC champs crowned after finale cancellation

2020 Australian Off-Road Championship

Motorcycling Australia (MA) have announced the 2020 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship presented by MXstore Champions for all 14 classes, following the cancellation of the remaining round scheduled for November due to the uncertainty of State Border COVID-19 border restrictions.

Yamaha AORC Rnd Toowoomba Luke Styke
Luke Styke at Toowoomba
Luke Styke – E1 Champion

“I’m a racer and wanted to do the full 12 rounds so I’m just disappointed we didn’t get more racing in, but I understand the situation we are in, and now, I’m just happy I was in front after the rounds completed. This is my third championship in a row in the E1 class and ticks off another goal I had coming into the season. Thank you to the team for their support and also the work MA did in trying to keep the championship up and running during such a difficult time.”

With two spectacular rounds held at Toowoomba, Queensland and one round at Dungog, NSW, (round 4 was cancelled due to severe weather), before COVID-19 pandemic hit, enough rounds have been run to award 2020 Champions.

The 2020 AORC kicked off with record entries, nearly 100 junior riders entered, in an expanded 14 classes of competition with new junior classes, plus the return of 2-Stroke Cup and senior racing in both the men’s and women’s classes.

Jessica Gardiner won the women's class from Emelie Karlsson and Emma Milesevic
Jessica Gardiner won the women’s class from Emelie Karlsson and Emma Milesevic
Jess Gardiner

“It’s good to secure the championship again, all be it in a strange way. I love racing and have missed it so much since the restrictions have been in place, but MA waited as long as they could to try and get the season up and running again. Hopefully things return to normal next year and we can get back to racing as we knew it.”

A record number, more than 280 riders in total, competed in the first two rounds, alongside the introduction of the Yamaha and OffRoad Advantage initiative – Yamaha Off-Road Tech and Tips (YORTT) – providing specialised coaching for junior competitors by Australian and World Champion riders.

AORC Rnd Dungog Daniel Milner
Daniel Milner at Dungog

Australia’s premier motocross talent joined AORC including in the E1 class with Mason Semmens (KTM Enduro Racing Team), in the E2 class with Todd Waters (Husqvarna) and the E3 class saw Callum Norton, all who scored podiums on their first outing.

AORC Rnd Dungog Sanders FM AORC RDS Dungog
Daniel Sanders won E3 and is currently competing the 2020 Andalucia Rally
Peter Doyle – Motorcycling Australia CEO

“We are very excited to be able to crown our 2020 Australian Off-Road Champions in all 14 classes. The Championship wouldn’t be the World class success it is without our key partners and sponsors Yamaha Motors Australia, MXstore, Ballard’s and Offroad Advantage. With record fields, expanded classes, strong competition, and tremendous partners, it was shaping up to be fantastic year. We congratulate each of the riders on their amazing success and each becoming MA Australian Champions. Whilst the 2020 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship, presented by MXstore, was interrupted, we are pleased about the growth of the championship in 2020 and can’t wait to see even bigger thing for AORC in 2021.”

2020 AORC champions include Luke Styke in E1, Daniel Milner in E2, Daniel Sanders in E3, Korey McMahon in EJ

Australian Off-Road Championship – 2020 Champions

Pos. Rider Team  Points
1 Luke Styke Yamaha Active8 Yamalube 70
2 Mason Semmens KTM Enduro Racing Team 69
3 Kyron Bacon MXStore, Yamaha Motor Australia 62
1 Daniel Milner KTM Enduro Racing Team 75
2 Joshua Green Yamaha Active8 Yamalube 60
3 Todd Waters Berry Sweet Husqvarna 59
1 Daniel Sanders Husqvarna Enduro Racing Team 75
2 Jonte Reynders Motul Pirelli Sherco Off-Road Racing Team 66
3 Fraser Higlett RJR Shopfitting, Husqvarna 56
1 Korey McMahon KTM, Suttos Powersports 72
2 Blake Hollis bLU Cru Off-Road Racing Team 69
3 Samuel Pretscherer   55
1 Jessica Gardiner Yamaha Ballards MXstore Off-Road Racing Team 75
2 Emelie Karlsson Yamaha Motor Australia 64
3 Emma Milesevic Penrite Honda 62
2-Stroke Cup
1 Brad Hardaker Banana Coast Pest Control, Yamaha Motor Australia 67
2 Harrison Teed   65
3 Dalton Johnson Motul Pirelli Sherco Off-Road Racing Team 62
1 Lee Stephens True Painting & Decorating, KTM Newcastle 75
2 Richard Chibnall WBR Echuca, Onpoint Motorcycles 66
3 Christopher Thomas Thomas Lee KTM 58
1 Kirk Hutton Yamaha Motor Australia 75
2 Andrew Gillam Coolblue 62
3 Peter Rudd Kessner Motorcycles, AutoWired 49
1 Jett Yarnold   75
2 Levi Stephens   62
3 Jack Shearer   56
1 Billy Hargy Husqvarna 70
2 William Dennett   69
3 Max Phillips Phillips Transport, Mototech 56
1 Riley McGillivray AJs Motorcycles Superstore, Tunetech Racing 75
2 Kodi Stephens True Painting & Decorating, KTM Newcastle 66
3 Kobi Wolff Westlink Petroleum, MPE Suspension 60
1 Danielle McDonald Yamaha Ballards MXstore Off-Road Racing Team) 75
2 Ariana Collins   66
2 Monique Simioni   60
1 Mason Boucher   56
2 Cooper Boyd   56
3 Lachlan Roche   53
1 Jack Stevenson   50
2 Harley Hutton   44
3 Dylan McDonald   40

Source: MCNews.com.au

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *